Skip to main content
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
phuclv
  • 28.4k
  • 15
  • 128
  • 252

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windowsWindows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmodchmod and chownchown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesgdmesg

/etc/fstab/etc/fstab

I ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything seams to be back to normal!!!

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

I ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything seams to be back to normal!!!

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into Windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

I ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything seams to be back to normal!!!

deleted 23 characters in body
Source Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

I ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything isseams to be back to normal!!!

Thanks so much too everyone!

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

I ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything is back to normal!!!

Thanks so much too everyone!

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

I ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything seams to be back to normal!!!

deleted 12 characters in body
Source Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

RESOLVED

I Ranran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything is back to normal!!! Thanks

Thanks so much too everyone!

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

RESOLVED

I Ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything is back to normal!!! Thanks so much too everyone!

My laptop has two operating systems, Windows 11 and Arch Linux.

I have a external 4TB HDD formatted to ext4.

When I go into windows, I normally disconnect the external drive, but not always because I sometimes forget it's connected. I normal use Linux OS.

The problem here is that for some reason, after I boot into Linux, the external drive mount read only!, and up till now, I've been unable to recover from this. This has happened to me twice with different external drives. I don't know if the windows OS changes something in the drive. I can copy the info from the disk but that's all!

I've been looking for a solution for a long time, and it's been frustrating.

I've tried chmod and chown but the result is that the drive is read only, and nothing happens!

Any Idea how to get around this?

dmesg

/etc/fstab

I ran the suggested SMART test and everything looks ok!

5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always - 0


SMART Error Log Version: 1
 No Errors Logged

Did a umount and mount and everything is back to normal!!!

Thanks so much too everyone!

Rollback to Revision 5
Link
Daniel B
  • 63.9k
  • 9
  • 128
  • 176
Loading
edited title
Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4
Loading
added 5024 characters in body
Source Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4
Loading
added 5024 characters in body
Source Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4
Loading
deleted 68 characters in body
Source Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4
Loading
added 162 characters in body
Source Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4
Loading
Source Link
nonick66
  • 13
  • 1
  • 4
Loading