Skip to main content
added 40 characters in body
Source Link
TheCleaner
  • 2.4k
  • 5
  • 21
  • 30

I recently purchased a replacement cable modem for my home internet. I was ready to upgrade my Cox cable internet from their 150 plan to their 500 plan.

  • Old cable modem was an older Arris Surfboard SB6141 docsis 3.0 modem.
  • New cable mode is a Netgear CM1000v2 docsis 3.1 modem from Amazon.
  • Old "plan" with Cox was 150/10, new plan is 500/10
  • Router setup is a TP-Link x20 mesh network with 3 "APs"

After activation with Cox support, the connection is operational.After activation with Cox support, the connection is operational, doing various speed tests though, I'm only getting around 100-150Mbps down instead of the advertised 500(ish). Upload is accurate at around 10Mbps.

Doing various speed tests though, I'm only getting around 100-150Mbps down. Upload is accurate at around 10Mbps. I'veI've tried various test sites, and tried via both wireless devices and wired laptop directly to the main x20 router. Whether on wifi or not, the tests never improved. Cox support also did multiple resets of the cable modem and we looked at the modem event logs and settings and they assert that everything looks right on the modem end.

What should I be looking at or troubleshooting to see what's wrong and why I'm not getting faster speeds after the hardware and plan upgrade with Cox?

I recently purchased a replacement cable modem for my home internet. I was ready to upgrade my Cox cable internet from their 150 plan to their 500 plan.

  • Old cable modem was an older Arris Surfboard SB6141 docsis 3.0 modem.
  • New cable mode is a Netgear CM1000v2 docsis 3.1 modem from Amazon.
  • Old "plan" with Cox was 150/10, new plan is 500/10
  • Router setup is a TP-Link x20 mesh network with 3 "APs"

After activation with Cox support, the connection is operational.

Doing various speed tests though, I'm only getting around 100-150Mbps down. Upload is accurate at around 10Mbps. I've tried various test sites, and tried via both wireless devices and wired laptop directly to the main x20 router. Whether on wifi or not, the tests never improved. Cox support also did multiple resets of the cable modem and we looked at the modem event logs and settings and they assert that everything looks right on the modem end.

What should I be looking at or troubleshooting to see what's wrong and why I'm not getting faster speeds after the hardware and plan upgrade with Cox?

I recently purchased a replacement cable modem for my home internet. I was ready to upgrade my Cox cable internet from their 150 plan to their 500 plan.

  • Old cable modem was an older Arris Surfboard SB6141 docsis 3.0 modem.
  • New cable mode is a Netgear CM1000v2 docsis 3.1 modem from Amazon.
  • Old "plan" with Cox was 150/10, new plan is 500/10
  • Router setup is a TP-Link x20 mesh network with 3 "APs"

After activation with Cox support, the connection is operational, doing various speed tests though, I'm only getting around 100-150Mbps down instead of the advertised 500(ish). Upload is accurate at around 10Mbps.

I've tried various test sites, and tried via both wireless devices and wired laptop directly to the main x20 router. Whether on wifi or not, the tests never improved. Cox support also did multiple resets of the cable modem and we looked at the modem event logs and settings and they assert that everything looks right on the modem end.

What should I be looking at or troubleshooting to see what's wrong and why I'm not getting faster speeds after the hardware and plan upgrade with Cox?

edited tags
Link
TheCleaner
  • 2.4k
  • 5
  • 21
  • 30
Source Link
TheCleaner
  • 2.4k
  • 5
  • 21
  • 30

Internet speed increased by ISP but still getting previous speeds

I recently purchased a replacement cable modem for my home internet. I was ready to upgrade my Cox cable internet from their 150 plan to their 500 plan.

  • Old cable modem was an older Arris Surfboard SB6141 docsis 3.0 modem.
  • New cable mode is a Netgear CM1000v2 docsis 3.1 modem from Amazon.
  • Old "plan" with Cox was 150/10, new plan is 500/10
  • Router setup is a TP-Link x20 mesh network with 3 "APs"

After activation with Cox support, the connection is operational.

Doing various speed tests though, I'm only getting around 100-150Mbps down. Upload is accurate at around 10Mbps. I've tried various test sites, and tried via both wireless devices and wired laptop directly to the main x20 router. Whether on wifi or not, the tests never improved. Cox support also did multiple resets of the cable modem and we looked at the modem event logs and settings and they assert that everything looks right on the modem end.

What should I be looking at or troubleshooting to see what's wrong and why I'm not getting faster speeds after the hardware and plan upgrade with Cox?