Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 1, 2022 at 21:36 comment added Diagon Thanks. Now strangely, deleting ../efivars/dump* a second time and rebooting, did clear them. I'm not sure what to make of that, but I'm certainly happy. I'm going to look into how to use this EFI shell anyway. Quite a black box down there. I really need to do coreboot ...
Mar 1, 2022 at 11:12 comment added grawity_u1686 I mean it's literally a command-line shell, much like bash or Cmd, only running in the "raw" EFI environment. Depending on manufacturer, it's sometimes embedded in the firmware, but more commonly you have to download the .efi file for it.
Mar 1, 2022 at 10:52 comment added Diagon EFI shell - I think you're referring to getting into the interface at post time, yes? There is no way to delete via the BIOS (which is what Thinkpads of this era provide). What would it mean to download an EFI shell? (Oh, and when I try deleting from the other location, I should be rm -r dump*, yes? Deleting the whole directory and its contents?)
Mar 1, 2022 at 10:48 comment added grawity_u1686 Try deleting it from the other location instead (though I'd be surprised if it gave different results...), or if you can start the EFI Shell (whether built-in or downloadable), try its dmpstore command to delete variables. In the worst case, reset all firmware settings.
Mar 1, 2022 at 10:26 comment added Diagon Ok, so that didn't work. I rebooted and not only do the ../vars/dump-* directories remain, but the ../efivars/dump-* files are all back! Do you have any other thoughts?
Feb 28, 2022 at 0:32 comment added Diagon Alright, thank you, but it has not yet been deleted from both locations. I will try a reboot, though I am a bit anxious because others have reported bricked machines due to full NVRAM even after deleting .../efivars. I won't reboot right away, but will report back after I do.
Feb 27, 2022 at 22:13 history answered grawity_u1686 CC BY-SA 4.0