Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Have you done everything listed in this article? Are you searching for file-names or content?
    – harrymc
    Commented Feb 26, 2022 at 21:01
  • I checked the indexed locations of my computer and the G:\ was not among them. But I added a couple thumb drives while I was in there and also elected to rebuild the search index. After that I believe I was still seeing bad search results. But later, I was experimenting with search syntax and currently am seeing very limited results so it's possible that the search reindex will do the trick. I'm trying to find redundant content by filename, but currently my test query string is (without quotes) "size:>1000000 ext: mp4 path: NOT g:*" Commented Feb 26, 2022 at 21:12
  • To sum that up, yes, I tried what that article mentioned and it's yet unclear whether I've succeeded :) Thanks for your response Commented Feb 26, 2022 at 21:14
  • Rebuilding the index may take time, so it's normal for things to improve gradually. If you're unhappy with Windows Search, there exist also good third-party free tools.
    – harrymc
    Commented Feb 27, 2022 at 9:42