Skip to main content
remove unnecessary noise
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43.1k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

I just bought a new HP Laptop (Envy x360) and was very surprised to find out that it had no battery/energy management software or anything in the bios to manage the charge of the battery to keep it at ~50% when plugged in to maximize the life of the battery. They only include it on their business and "high end" laptops even though mine was $1000. I really only use the laptop docked here at home so for 95% of it's life it will be plugged in so the battery feature is important to me as when I do want to use it off the dock I get more than 10 minutes of battery.

I created a PowerShell program that runs in the background and checks the battery level once a minute and if it falls below 51% it tells a Sonoff Basic R3 switch to turn on the power supply and if the charge goes above 59% it turns the power supply off. Also when the laptop is shutdown it turns off the power supply.

I have these questions and I was hoping to get some opinions:

  1. Is doing this with the smart switch better than having the battery fully charge to 100% and keeping it plugged in?

    Is doing this with the smart switch better than having the battery fully charge to 100% and keeping it plugged in?

  2. Is the percentage okay or should I add it a bit closer together (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 55% turn off power supply) or have it be 40% - 50% rather than 50% - 60%?

    Is the percentage okay or should I add it a bit closer together (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 55% turn off power supply) or have it be 40% - 50% rather than 50% - 60%?

  3. How does charging just 10% of the battery from 50% - 60% count towards the cycle life of the battery and would adjusting it to a shorter duration (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 51% turn off power supply) or a longer duration (maybe <= 40% turn on power supply and >= 60% turn off power supply) help out?

    How does charging just 10% of the battery from 50% - 60% count towards the cycle life of the battery and would adjusting it to a shorter duration (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 51% turn off power supply) or a longer duration (maybe <= 40% turn on power supply and >= 60% turn off power supply) help out?

Thanks in advance everyone and looking forward to the comments/answers on this.

I just bought a new HP Laptop (Envy x360) and was very surprised to find out that it had no battery/energy management software or anything in the bios to manage the charge of the battery to keep it at ~50% when plugged in to maximize the life of the battery. They only include it on their business and "high end" laptops even though mine was $1000. I really only use the laptop docked here at home so for 95% of it's life it will be plugged in so the battery feature is important to me as when I do want to use it off the dock I get more than 10 minutes of battery.

I created a PowerShell program that runs in the background and checks the battery level once a minute and if it falls below 51% it tells a Sonoff Basic R3 switch to turn on the power supply and if the charge goes above 59% it turns the power supply off. Also when the laptop is shutdown it turns off the power supply.

I have these questions and I was hoping to get some opinions:

  1. Is doing this with the smart switch better than having the battery fully charge to 100% and keeping it plugged in?
  2. Is the percentage okay or should I add it a bit closer together (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 55% turn off power supply) or have it be 40% - 50% rather than 50% - 60%?
  3. How does charging just 10% of the battery from 50% - 60% count towards the cycle life of the battery and would adjusting it to a shorter duration (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 51% turn off power supply) or a longer duration (maybe <= 40% turn on power supply and >= 60% turn off power supply) help out?

Thanks in advance everyone and looking forward to the comments/answers on this.

I just bought a new HP Laptop (Envy x360) and was very surprised to find out that it had no battery/energy management software or anything in the bios to manage the charge of the battery to keep it at ~50% when plugged in to maximize the life of the battery. They only include it on their business and "high end" laptops even though mine was $1000. I really only use the laptop docked here at home so for 95% of it's life it will be plugged in so the battery feature is important to me as when I do want to use it off the dock I get more than 10 minutes of battery.

I created a PowerShell program that runs in the background and checks the battery level once a minute and if it falls below 51% it tells a Sonoff Basic R3 switch to turn on the power supply and if the charge goes above 59% it turns the power supply off. Also when the laptop is shutdown it turns off the power supply.

I have these questions and I was hoping to get some opinions:

  1. Is doing this with the smart switch better than having the battery fully charge to 100% and keeping it plugged in?

  2. Is the percentage okay or should I add it a bit closer together (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 55% turn off power supply) or have it be 40% - 50% rather than 50% - 60%?

  3. How does charging just 10% of the battery from 50% - 60% count towards the cycle life of the battery and would adjusting it to a shorter duration (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 51% turn off power supply) or a longer duration (maybe <= 40% turn on power supply and >= 60% turn off power supply) help out?

Source Link

Mimicking Laptop Battery Management Software With Smart Switch

I just bought a new HP Laptop (Envy x360) and was very surprised to find out that it had no battery/energy management software or anything in the bios to manage the charge of the battery to keep it at ~50% when plugged in to maximize the life of the battery. They only include it on their business and "high end" laptops even though mine was $1000. I really only use the laptop docked here at home so for 95% of it's life it will be plugged in so the battery feature is important to me as when I do want to use it off the dock I get more than 10 minutes of battery.

I created a PowerShell program that runs in the background and checks the battery level once a minute and if it falls below 51% it tells a Sonoff Basic R3 switch to turn on the power supply and if the charge goes above 59% it turns the power supply off. Also when the laptop is shutdown it turns off the power supply.

I have these questions and I was hoping to get some opinions:

  1. Is doing this with the smart switch better than having the battery fully charge to 100% and keeping it plugged in?
  2. Is the percentage okay or should I add it a bit closer together (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 55% turn off power supply) or have it be 40% - 50% rather than 50% - 60%?
  3. How does charging just 10% of the battery from 50% - 60% count towards the cycle life of the battery and would adjusting it to a shorter duration (maybe <= 50% turn on power supply and >= 51% turn off power supply) or a longer duration (maybe <= 40% turn on power supply and >= 60% turn off power supply) help out?

Thanks in advance everyone and looking forward to the comments/answers on this.