Skip to main content

Timeline for WindowsSearch not working

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 17, 2022 at 17:48 comment added anon 120 GB is too small for a standard physical machine. People getting machines with this size of drive soon regret it. I strongly suggest getting a larger drive for Windows and apps you need.
Jan 17, 2022 at 13:45 comment added Dom Ok I made mistake it has only about 120GB. But still is it normal for Windows to use 90GB from those 120? Hibernation file is “only” 2GB as I am cleaning it regularly.
Jan 17, 2022 at 12:31 comment added Dom It is 250GB. Windows just keeps filling it with shi*. I have only Microsoft Office installed on C: all documents, photos, other programs, etc. are on D:
Jan 17, 2022 at 12:26 comment added anon I have put bigger drives in laptops. If your basic drive is too small for your needs I am not sure what else to suggest. Your local computer store may be able to help.
Jan 17, 2022 at 12:22 comment added Dom Well this is Laptop. It is easier said than done. Also I think my SSD is good quality and that this will happen to every new drive if I won’t find a way to force Windows to save elsewhere. Not mentioning reinstalling all the definitely legit programs I have.
Jan 17, 2022 at 12:15 comment added anon Your comment about Updates is what I mentioned in my answer. The only thing practical to move is Documents (photos, videos, documents). Even basic email (or cache) is better on Drive C: I am pretty sure now a larger C: drive is called for.
Jan 17, 2022 at 12:12 comment added Dom Well. The windows already updated and changed the location of the folders back. However I still need to move them to D: but I am not sure which ones can be moved. I already changed the location of the Roaming by changing it in the file options but now it is total mess.
Jan 17, 2022 at 12:09 comment added anon New user profiles do not have much data which is why the number is so small. What I have suggested is move the folders you put on D: back to C: to make Windows work again. Otherwise (if you do not have space) get a larger disk. The important thing is to have Windows components on Drive C: all together.
Jan 17, 2022 at 12:05 comment added Dom What I wanted to say was: If new user profile has only about 300MB of AppData, that should mean only 300MB is required by system and rest can be moved. Is that true?
Jan 17, 2022 at 11:19 history edited anon CC BY-SA 4.0
added 80 characters in body
Jan 17, 2022 at 11:17 comment added anon My App Data folder is 16 GB. If you have room, then move tack to C: I clarified my answer
Jan 17, 2022 at 11:07 comment added Dom Judging by other profiles there are only few MegaBytes worth of files which need to be on C: right?
Jan 17, 2022 at 10:59 comment added Dom Which folders from AppData can be moved then?
Jan 17, 2022 at 1:07 history answered anon CC BY-SA 4.0