Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 5, 2022 at 17:59 comment added Ramhound @MichaelMacha - In my experience, you will not have success, unless you use sysprep which is a pain to use even for an experienced administrator.
Jan 5, 2022 at 15:36 comment added Michael Macha @Ramhound That's a little off-topic, I generally presume that SO users have a legitimate reason for whatever they're trying to do, and often a reason that may not be my business. Let's get back to the basic discussion of whether Win10 will allow installation on one machine and activation on the other.
Jan 5, 2022 at 3:09 comment added Ramhound @MichaelMacha - I haven’t restarted my machine in 3 weeks. What does the uptime of a Windows machine have to do with anything? Windows 10 restores the state of compatible applications when restarted. Sounds like your making the process harder then it needs to be. I have work systems that have been up for a year.
Jan 5, 2022 at 2:31 comment added Michael Macha @Ramhound I used to install Windows 8, later W10, for a living, along with computer repair, in my last job. I could generally have it done in ten minutes. It's not so much the time, but the lead-in and lead-out, that bothers me--with Mint, you can go weeks without a restart. However, I'll need to shut down every multimedia, software, and web app I'm using, and remember, half an hour later, how to boot them all back. It's a real problem. So, I'm putting my old machine to use. We'll see if I have driver issues and how much of a problem they are to fix, though.
Jan 5, 2022 at 2:02 comment added Ramhound "Can I install Windows on a hard drive while it's in that machine, remove it, install the drive in this one, and then simply activate it on the final machine?" - It might but it likely won't. You will probably get drivers issues out of the box. It shouldn't take more than 20 minutes to install Windows.
Jan 5, 2022 at 0:18 vote accept Michael Macha
Jan 4, 2022 at 22:15 comment added Anaksunaman You can use Windows 10 indefinitely with minimal restrictions (essentially some minor annoyances regarding customization). There is no real need to activate it.
Jan 4, 2022 at 22:14 answer added Yorik timeline score: 1
Jan 4, 2022 at 20:38 comment added Michael Macha I do use a virtual machine! However, VMs generally have indirect access to graphics cards, which is very relevant to the work I do. So, I like to have a standalone instance available, all the same.
Jan 4, 2022 at 20:14 comment added Daniel B Why not use a virtual machine?
Jan 4, 2022 at 20:11 history asked Michael Macha CC BY-SA 4.0