Skip to main content
added 203 characters in body
Source Link
Señor CMasMas
  • 5.6k
  • 1
  • 13
  • 32

Try disabling hyper-v virtualization through bcdedit.

You will probably not be able to do both WSL2 and VMWare stuff at the same time.

EDIT: Mr. @Ramhound had this to say (and he is almost never wrong)

VMWare and Hyper-V should be able to coexist on the same system, certainly, the version of VMWare should allow it.

Do you REALLY NEED WSL2 vs WSL1? WSL1 doesn't require virtualization. I myself use WSL1 and the ONLY THING that it can't do for me is mount other file systems or run kernel mode stuff like docker. The I/O is also a little slow (but mostly unnoticeable).

Search google for "disable virtualization bcdedit".

I myself use the boot menu that allows me to turn it on or off at boot time. You will find that in your search if that is what you seek.

I use VirtualBox and some of the microsoft virtualization technologies and they don't like each other so I need the ability to turn it on or off.

I hope this solves your problem.

Try disabling hyper-v virtualization through bcdedit.

You will probably not be able to do both WSL2 and VMWare stuff at the same time.

Do you REALLY NEED WSL2 vs WSL1? WSL1 doesn't require virtualization. I myself use WSL1 and the ONLY THING that it can't do for me is mount other file systems or run kernel mode stuff like docker. The I/O is also a little slow (but mostly unnoticeable).

Search google for "disable virtualization bcdedit".

I myself use the boot menu that allows me to turn it on or off at boot time. You will find that in your search if that is what you seek.

I use VirtualBox and some of the microsoft virtualization technologies and they don't like each other so I need the ability to turn it on or off.

I hope this solves your problem.

Try disabling hyper-v virtualization through bcdedit.

You will probably not be able to do both WSL2 and VMWare stuff at the same time.

EDIT: Mr. @Ramhound had this to say (and he is almost never wrong)

VMWare and Hyper-V should be able to coexist on the same system, certainly, the version of VMWare should allow it.

Do you REALLY NEED WSL2 vs WSL1? WSL1 doesn't require virtualization. I myself use WSL1 and the ONLY THING that it can't do for me is mount other file systems or run kernel mode stuff like docker. The I/O is also a little slow (but mostly unnoticeable).

Search google for "disable virtualization bcdedit".

I myself use the boot menu that allows me to turn it on or off at boot time. You will find that in your search if that is what you seek.

I use VirtualBox and some of the microsoft virtualization technologies and they don't like each other so I need the ability to turn it on or off.

I hope this solves your problem.

Source Link
Señor CMasMas
  • 5.6k
  • 1
  • 13
  • 32

Try disabling hyper-v virtualization through bcdedit.

You will probably not be able to do both WSL2 and VMWare stuff at the same time.

Do you REALLY NEED WSL2 vs WSL1? WSL1 doesn't require virtualization. I myself use WSL1 and the ONLY THING that it can't do for me is mount other file systems or run kernel mode stuff like docker. The I/O is also a little slow (but mostly unnoticeable).

Search google for "disable virtualization bcdedit".

I myself use the boot menu that allows me to turn it on or off at boot time. You will find that in your search if that is what you seek.

I use VirtualBox and some of the microsoft virtualization technologies and they don't like each other so I need the ability to turn it on or off.

I hope this solves your problem.