Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 575 characters in body
Source Link
Cerin
  • 9.3k
  • 18
  • 56
  • 69

I am using Ubuntu and I have an APC Back-UPS 550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

Edit: Discovering some docs on APC's website, it says the false alarm buzzer issue can sometimes happen if you overload the unit and connect too many high-wattage appliances to it, even when it's on external power. I can't be sure, but that might have been my problem. The unit seems designed to power a typical desktop pc and maybe a monitor, but I was using it to power two 1U servers, a desktop PC, and a hefty wifi router.

I'll try redistributing some of the load to a second ups and see if that resolves the problem.

I am using Ubuntu and I have an APC Back-UPS 550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

I am using Ubuntu and I have an APC Back-UPS 550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

Edit: Discovering some docs on APC's website, it says the false alarm buzzer issue can sometimes happen if you overload the unit and connect too many high-wattage appliances to it, even when it's on external power. I can't be sure, but that might have been my problem. The unit seems designed to power a typical desktop pc and maybe a monitor, but I was using it to power two 1U servers, a desktop PC, and a hefty wifi router.

I'll try redistributing some of the load to a second ups and see if that resolves the problem.

added 22 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.2k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

I am using Ubuntu and I have an APC Back-UPS 550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

I have an APC Back-UPS 550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

I am using Ubuntu and I have an APC Back-UPS 550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

deleted 2 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.2k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

How to silence "bad battery" alarm in a ABCAPC Back-UPS 550 UPS?

I have an APC "BackBack-UPS 550"550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

How to silence "bad battery" alarm in a ABC 550 UPS?

I have an APC "Back-UPS 550" uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

How to silence "bad battery" alarm in a APC Back-UPS 550 UPS?

I have an APC Back-UPS 550 uninterruptible power supply that's worked pretty well for several years.

However, over the last year, it's "bad battery" alarm has routinely started activating, and each time appears to be a false alarm.

A loud persistent piezo buzzer blares while it's status LED flashes between green and red. According to the manual, this means the lead-acid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. However, upon inspecting it, he battery has a full charge and is in perfect condition.

Just to be safe, I bought a new battery, and the problem went away, but then about 6 months later, the bad battery alarm came on again. I know these batteries don't last forever, but they should last for 3-4 years, not just 6 months.

What's causing this, and is there any way to fix it? Is the UPS unit defective? Is there any way I can disassemble it and either fix or deactivate this "alarm". Since the unit otherwise works great, I half suspect this is just APC's way of trying to get me to buy more batteries, which aren't cheap.

Source Link
Cerin
  • 9.3k
  • 18
  • 56
  • 69
Loading