Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Focused title, added images, clarified text
Source Link
Peregrino69
  • 4.7k
  • 3
  • 23
  • 30

Why am I getting a 'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' error? How can I fix it? Eclipse on MacOS giving multiple different errors

I'm a Mac user that's been trying to start Java through Eclipse after some time away from the program. I've been able to restart it and overcome most of the bugs through Google Searching and stack overflowStack Overflow, but I've found an error that I could not find much about. My apologies if I am not the most computer/code literate person.

When I open Eclipse, I am either greeted by the welcome menu or this error. In the former case, the error usually pops up after a few seconds:

'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' has encountered a problem.

'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' has encountered a problem.

An internal error has occured. 

An internal error has occured.Menu

Case #1 Case #2Error

In either case, I cannot open any window/perspective. For instance, clicking Window > Show View > Project ExplorerWindow > Show View > Project Explorer simply does nothing - no error message pops up, but nothing else appears.

Trying to do other functions (I clicked Run in this case) results in another error message popping up:

This selection cannot be launched, and there are no recent launches.No recent launches

There appear to be a wide variety of visual glitches as well. Double clicking "Task"Task in the upper right caused everything but that window to turn gray:

graygray.

Additionally, the following error pops up frequently - sometimes after clicking on something and sometimes spontaneously:

An error has occurred. See error log for more detailsError3.

With all of these errors, clicking "Details >>"Details >> simply causes the error window to refresh. I've tried changing workspaces and restarting eclipse with little success. Can anyone help me figure out what is going on and how I might fix these issues. Thank you and sorry for the trouble! I hope I am as clear as possible.

Why am I getting a 'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' error? How can I fix it?

I'm a Mac user that's been trying to start Java through Eclipse after some time away from the program. I've been able to restart it and overcome most of the bugs through Google Searching and stack overflow, but I've found an error that I could not find much about. My apologies if I am not the most computer/code literate person.

When I open Eclipse, I am either greeted by the welcome menu or this error. In the former case, the error usually pops up after a few seconds:

'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' has encountered a problem.

An internal error has occured.

Case #1 Case #2

In either case, I cannot open any window/perspective. For instance, clicking Window > Show View > Project Explorer simply does nothing - no error message pops up, but nothing else appears.

Trying to do other functions (I clicked Run in this case) results in another error message popping up:

This selection cannot be launched, and there are no recent launches.

There appear to be a wide variety of visual glitches as well. Double clicking "Task" in the upper right caused everything but that window to turn gray.

Additionally, the following error pops up frequently - sometimes after clicking on something and sometimes spontaneously:

An error has occurred. See error log for more details.

With all of these errors, clicking "Details >>" simply causes the error window to refresh. I've tried changing workspaces and restarting eclipse with little success. Can anyone help me figure out what is going on and how I might fix these issues. Thank you and sorry for the trouble! I hope I am as clear as possible.

Eclipse on MacOS giving multiple different errors

I'm a Mac user that's been trying to start Java through Eclipse after some time away from the program. I've been able to restart it and overcome most of the bugs through Google Searching and Stack Overflow, but I've found an error that I could not find much about.

When I open Eclipse, I am either greeted by the welcome menu or this error. In the former case, the error usually pops up after a few seconds:

'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' has encountered a problem.

An internal error has occured. 

Menu

Error

In either case, I cannot open any window/perspective. For instance, clicking Window > Show View > Project Explorer simply does nothing - no error message pops up, but nothing else appears.

Trying to do other functions (I clicked Run in this case) results in another error message popping up:

No recent launches

There appear to be a wide variety of visual glitches as well. Double clicking Task in the upper right caused everything but that window to turn gray:

gray

Additionally, the following error pops up frequently - sometimes after clicking on something and sometimes spontaneously:

Error3

With all of these errors, clicking Details >> simply causes the error window to refresh. I've tried changing workspaces and restarting eclipse with little success. Can anyone help me figure out what is going on and how I might fix these issues.

Source Link

Why am I getting a 'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' error? How can I fix it?

I'm a Mac user that's been trying to start Java through Eclipse after some time away from the program. I've been able to restart it and overcome most of the bugs through Google Searching and stack overflow, but I've found an error that I could not find much about. My apologies if I am not the most computer/code literate person.

When I open Eclipse, I am either greeted by the welcome menu or this error. In the former case, the error usually pops up after a few seconds:

'Tip of the Day. Layout Shell' has encountered a problem.

An internal error has occured.

Case #1 Case #2

In either case, I cannot open any window/perspective. For instance, clicking Window > Show View > Project Explorer simply does nothing - no error message pops up, but nothing else appears.

Trying to do other functions (I clicked Run in this case) results in another error message popping up:

This selection cannot be launched, and there are no recent launches.

There appear to be a wide variety of visual glitches as well. Double clicking "Task" in the upper right caused everything but that window to turn gray.

Additionally, the following error pops up frequently - sometimes after clicking on something and sometimes spontaneously:

An error has occurred. See error log for more details.

With all of these errors, clicking "Details >>" simply causes the error window to refresh. I've tried changing workspaces and restarting eclipse with little success. Can anyone help me figure out what is going on and how I might fix these issues. Thank you and sorry for the trouble! I hope I am as clear as possible.