Skip to main content
added 38 characters in body
Source Link
Richard
  • 6.2k
  • 11
  • 47
  • 82

I have three network drives (S:, U: and Z:) mapped to a Synology NAS. They are all online and read/write accessible.

Without installing additional software or making the files available offline, how can I get Windows 10 to add the contents to the search index (without making the files available offline) so that searching them is fast?

Things I've tried

  • "Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties" is already checked for all three (source).
  • Indexing Options doesn't have S:, U: or Z: listed. If I select "Modify" then I can only add C:. Even if I select "Show all locations" then I'm still only shown C:.
  • Deleting and rebuilding the index made no difference.
  • Running the troubleshooter and selecting "Files, folders, apps or settings don't appear in results" just restarts the Windows Search app.
  • Several other solutions that reference buttons, screens or options that only exist in previous versions of Windows

I have three network drives (S:, U: and Z:) mapped to a Synology NAS. They are all online and read/write accessible.

Without installing additional software, how can I get Windows 10 to add the contents to the search index (without making the files available offline) so that searching them is fast?

Things I've tried

  • "Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties" is already checked for all three (source).
  • Indexing Options doesn't have S:, U: or Z: listed. If I select "Modify" then I can only add C:. Even if I select "Show all locations" then I'm still only shown C:.
  • Deleting and rebuilding the index made no difference.
  • Running the troubleshooter and selecting "Files, folders, apps or settings don't appear in results" just restarts the Windows Search app.
  • Several other solutions that reference buttons, screens or options that only exist in previous versions of Windows

I have three network drives (S:, U: and Z:) mapped to a Synology NAS. They are all online and read/write accessible.

Without installing additional software or making the files available offline, how can I get Windows 10 to add the contents to the search index (without making the files available offline) so that searching them is fast?

Things I've tried

  • "Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties" is already checked for all three (source).
  • Indexing Options doesn't have S:, U: or Z: listed. If I select "Modify" then I can only add C:. Even if I select "Show all locations" then I'm still only shown C:.
  • Deleting and rebuilding the index made no difference.
  • Running the troubleshooter and selecting "Files, folders, apps or settings don't appear in results" just restarts the Windows Search app.
  • Several other solutions that reference buttons, screens or options that only exist in previous versions of Windows
added 119 characters in body
Source Link
Richard
  • 6.2k
  • 11
  • 47
  • 82

I have three network drives (S:, U: and Z:) mapped to a Synology NAS. They are all online and read/write accessible.

Without installing additional software, how can I get Windows 10 to add the contents to the search index (without making the files available offline) so that searching them is fast?

Things I've tried

  • "Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties" is already checked for all three (source).
  • Indexing Options doesn't have S:, U: or Z: listed. If I select "Modify" then I can only add C:. Even if I select "Show all locations" then I'm still only shown C:.
  • Deleting and rebuilding the index made no difference.
  • Running the troubleshooter and selecting "Files, folders, apps or settings don't appear in results" just restarts the Windows Search app.
  • Several other solutions that reference buttons, screens or options that only exist in previous versions of Windows

I have three network drives (S:, U: and Z:) mapped to a Synology NAS. They are all online and read/write accessible.

Without installing additional software, how can I get Windows 10 to add the contents to the search index (without making the files available offline) so that searching them is fast?

Things I've tried

  • "Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties" is already checked for all three (source).
  • Indexing Options doesn't have S:, U: or Z: listed. If I select "Modify" then I can only add C:. Even if I select "Show all locations" then I'm still only shown C:.
  • Deleting and rebuilding the index made no difference.
  • Running the troubleshooter and selecting "Files, folders, apps or settings don't appear in results" just restarts the Windows Search app.

I have three network drives (S:, U: and Z:) mapped to a Synology NAS. They are all online and read/write accessible.

Without installing additional software, how can I get Windows 10 to add the contents to the search index (without making the files available offline) so that searching them is fast?

Things I've tried

  • "Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties" is already checked for all three (source).
  • Indexing Options doesn't have S:, U: or Z: listed. If I select "Modify" then I can only add C:. Even if I select "Show all locations" then I'm still only shown C:.
  • Deleting and rebuilding the index made no difference.
  • Running the troubleshooter and selecting "Files, folders, apps or settings don't appear in results" just restarts the Windows Search app.
  • Several other solutions that reference buttons, screens or options that only exist in previous versions of Windows
Source Link
Richard
  • 6.2k
  • 11
  • 47
  • 82

How do I get Windows 10 to index mapped network drives?

I have three network drives (S:, U: and Z:) mapped to a Synology NAS. They are all online and read/write accessible.

Without installing additional software, how can I get Windows 10 to add the contents to the search index (without making the files available offline) so that searching them is fast?

Things I've tried

  • "Allow files on this drive to have contents indexed in addition to file properties" is already checked for all three (source).
  • Indexing Options doesn't have S:, U: or Z: listed. If I select "Modify" then I can only add C:. Even if I select "Show all locations" then I'm still only shown C:.
  • Deleting and rebuilding the index made no difference.
  • Running the troubleshooter and selecting "Files, folders, apps or settings don't appear in results" just restarts the Windows Search app.