Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 7, 2021 at 5:29 comment added Seth Because you told it to act like it -Pn: Treat all hosts as online -- skip host discovery.
Sep 1, 2021 at 12:40 comment added Max @Seth Ok, I got it. Thanks a lot. I was simply using the wrong IP adress for the pi. Turning off the wifi and using nmap -sP 10.42.0.1/22 showed me, that the Pi is actually using 10.42.0.148. I'm wondering why nmap -p22 10.42.0.2 -Pn found an online host then....
Sep 1, 2021 at 12:33 comment added Max But I will try to disconnect from wifi now and see, what's happening then.
Sep 1, 2021 at 12:33 comment added Max @Seth Wait, I feel like there is a missunderstanding here. My primary goal is not to share my notebook's internetaccess with the pi. My primary goal is, to be able to access the pi via ssh.
Sep 1, 2021 at 12:26 comment added Seth It does sound like you're using ICS. So you're sharing the selected adapater with another interface. Your Notebook is supposed to act like a gateway/router. So you do have a working internet connection and you are trying to make that accessible to a different device. In the past it was possible to make this work the wrong way around. Your Raspberry Pi, depending on configuration, might also be using an APIPA address. You could try to disconnect from the WLAN and just try to use NMAP to scan the appropiate address ranges for a host that's alive. Assuming DHCP did work or an APIPA is used.
Sep 1, 2021 at 12:16 comment added Max @Seth Well, the default was DHCP. So first I tried to use DHCP and it didn't work. So I made some research on google, and I read, that I should use "share to other computers". So I tried that and it's not working either. Computer and Pi are not from the company. My computer is logged in to company wifi, but that's unrelated to the issue I guess, since I'm trying to connect to the Pi via ethernet. What do you mean by "sharing the wrong adapter"? And what do you mean by "which way around you're sharing"?
Sep 1, 2021 at 11:22 comment added Seth Your assumptions are wrong. If your RaspberryPi is not configured with a static IP it is waiting for DHCP. By sharing the adapter you might enable DHCP in some form. If you are on a company network and a company issue device your IT department might've put limitations in place. In addition, depending on which way around you're sharing, you might also simply be sharing the wrong adapter.
Sep 1, 2021 at 11:01 history asked Max CC BY-SA 4.0