Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • I take your point, but there's no need to exaggerate. I bought the UPS new 9 years ago this month, approximately three years before the rollout of Windows 10. The last version of the user manual is stamped November 2016, more than a year after the introduction of Windows 10. In absence of providing vendor-specific software, Windows 10 is providing a default driver that was built in 2006. Commented Aug 22, 2021 at 23:04
  • I did clarify my post about the initial design year. I do not try to exaggerate when I post. Thanks.
    – anon
    Commented Aug 23, 2021 at 0:07
  • Yeah, I get it. I couldn't find any info on when it was designed, but it got UL certification near the end of 2009, still well before Windows 10. Before using it with this machine, I used to get notifications (and a power indicator icon on the task bar) without vendor software, just stock Windows 7. Usually Microsoft is really good about backward compatibility, and since their driver dates back to 2006, I'm still rather surprised why this functionality was lost. Commented Aug 23, 2021 at 4:03