Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • Do you know if GNOME is running in X11 or Wayland mode? (In X11, the window manager doesn't really have any priority over other programs that are also trying to grab exclusive input, so when GNOME Shell tries to capture the cursor/keyboard for itself, this might have really weird interactions with VMware "cursor integration" which does the same.) If this is indeed X11, does the same occur with other non-GNOME-based screenshotting tools such as Spectacle or slop? Commented Aug 12, 2021 at 18:45
  • I used Ubuntu 20.04, Apps, Utilities, Screenshot, using Gnome and took a screen shot. Gnome is still running fine and Ubuntu is still running fine. Try: sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo apt-get clean && sudo apt-get autoremove ; restart, make sure everything is up to date. VMware Workstation V16.1.2 on a Windows 10 21H1 host. All is well
    – anon
    Commented Aug 12, 2021 at 18:51
  • @user1686 I'm new to superuser, so I hope I'm commenting appropriately. [EDIT: I accidentally posted this comment before finishing it, so here is what I meant to type.] When I type "echo $XDG_SESSION_TYPE", the output is "x11". Also, slop seems to work fine. I'm new to that tool, but it seems to only tell the dimensions and not take an actual screenshot.
    – james1052
    Commented Aug 12, 2021 at 19:04
  • @John My host machine is Ubuntu 20.04, as stated. If I'm understanding your comment correctly, your host machine is Windows. Thanks for testing though.
    – james1052
    Commented Aug 12, 2021 at 19:08
  • Try what I said in my comment about cleaning up updates to see if that helps.
    – anon
    Commented Aug 12, 2021 at 19:09