Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

18
  • I do not know your setup but I certainly use VPN and have done for a long time. You do not need port forwarding with VPN. Just set up your remote and local subnets to encompass the machines you wish to see / access.
    – anon
    Commented Jul 18, 2021 at 13:40
  • I'm not sure what you mean by "encompass the machines you wish to see / access". Could you elaborate?
    – adamski234
    Commented Jul 18, 2021 at 13:49
  • Look in the VPN setups for Remote and Local subnets. That is what I was referring to.
    – anon
    Commented Jul 18, 2021 at 13:50
  • I'm still not getting it. Do you mean giving the device connecting to the VPN an address in the subnet that my home network works with?
    – adamski234
    Commented Jul 18, 2021 at 14:59
  • Do you mean giving the device connecting to the VPN an address in the subnet that my home network works with ... Yes, I think that is correct. I would normally provide the local subnet group at each end of the VPN a complete local subnet at each end.
    – anon
    Commented Jul 18, 2021 at 15:32