Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Hi, thanks for this! This works, except that I need to return the value for 'Sheet1!B:B instead of B3 because I've realised that the B value also changes and when I put that it gives me a Vlookup error. Do you have any idea why that might be? Thanks so much for your help.
    – Gale
    Commented Jul 10, 2021 at 11:20
  • Also, I've just found that when I input a different specified value it doesn't work, even though I've checked the reference sheet and that should return a positive result.
    – Gale
    Commented Jul 10, 2021 at 12:07
  • Actually, I think I've cracked it based on your suggestion to use index, thanks! =INDEX('Sheet1'!A:I,MATCH(1,('Sheet1'!A:A=A6)*('Sheet1'!I:I=$H$1),0),2) The only problem I have now is how to figure out whether there is any way to flag up duplicates... Any suggestions welcome but thanks so much for your help
    – Gale
    Commented Jul 10, 2021 at 14:02