Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Martin Prikryl
  • 22.7k
  • 10
  • 83
  • 164
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1387104310484475917
added 48 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247

In WinSCP how How do I get it to tryWinSCP to connect to an SSH server with a private key that I specify?

How do I get WinSCP to connect to an SSH server with a private key that I specify, as.

I don't see anthe option to enter a private key?.

Screenshot

  • For example, I have a private key I created with SSH in cygwin.

    For example, I have a private key I created with SSH in cygwin. (id_rsa)

    $ ls ~/.ssh -l
    
      -rw------- 1 user None 2602 Dec 24 17:26 id_rsa
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None  570 Dec 24 17:28 id_rsa.pub
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None 4562 Apr 27 08:03 known_hosts
    
    $ cat .ssh/id_rsa
    
      -----BEGIN OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
      b3Blb...........wcm9ib29rMQECAw==
      -----END OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
    
    Public key has been added to authorized_keys on the server.

    And I have already added the Public key (id_rsa.pub), to authorized_keys on the server.

In WinSCP how do I get it to try to connect to an SSH server with a private key I specify?

How do I get WinSCP to connect to an SSH server with a private key I specify, as I don't see an option to enter a private key?

Screenshot

  • For example, I have a private key I created with SSH in cygwin.
    ls -l
    
      -rw------- 1 user None 2602 Dec 24 17:26 id_rsa
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None  570 Dec 24 17:28 id_rsa.pub
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None 4562 Apr 27 08:03 known_hosts
    
    $ cat .ssh/id_rsa
    
      -----BEGIN OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
      b3Blb...........wcm9ib29rMQECAw==
      -----END OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
    
    Public key has been added to authorized_keys on the server.

How do I get WinSCP to connect to an SSH server with a private key that I specify?

How do I get WinSCP to connect to an SSH server with a private key that I specify.

I don't see the option.

Screenshot

  • For example, I have a private key I created with SSH in cygwin. (id_rsa)

    $ ls ~/.ssh -l
    
      -rw------- 1 user None 2602 Dec 24 17:26 id_rsa
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None  570 Dec 24 17:28 id_rsa.pub
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None 4562 Apr 27 08:03 known_hosts
    
    $ cat .ssh/id_rsa
    
      -----BEGIN OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
      b3Blb...........wcm9ib29rMQECAw==
      -----END OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
    

    And I have already added the Public key (id_rsa.pub), to authorized_keys on the server.

Became Hot Network Question
Added correct markdown for monospaced code ; Grammatical corrections (incl. formatting, redundancy removal, and content rearrangement into it's logical chronology)
Source Link
JW0914
  • 8.3k
  • 7
  • 31
  • 50

In WinSCP howHow do I get it to tryWinSCP to connect to an SSH server with a private key I specify?

For example

I have a private key that I created with the SSH from cygwin.

C:\>where ssh
c:\cygwin\bin\ssh.exe

C:\>cd \cygwin

C:\cygwin>cygwin

user@hp-probook1 ~
$ where ssh
C:\cygwin\bin\ssh.exe

user@hp-probook1 ~
$ cd .ssh

user@hp-pb1 ~/.ssh
$ ls -l
total 13
-rw------- 1 user None 2602 Dec 24 17:26 id_rsa
-rw-r--r-- 1 user None  570 Dec 24 17:28 id_rsa.pub
-rw-r--r-- 1 user None 4562 Apr 27 08:03 known_hosts

user@hp-pb1 ~
$ cat .ssh/id_rsa
-----BEGIN OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
b3Blb...........wcm9ib29rMQECAw==
-----END OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----

user@hp-pb1 ~
$

So you see the private and public key there. (cygwin's ssh generates the public key id_rsa.pub from the private key id_rsa)

Here is WinSCP

enter image description here

, as I don't see noan option to enter a private key in WinSCP?

The public key has been added to authorized_keys on the server.Screenshot

I just need the client program, in this case, WinSCP, to connect with the private key!

  • For example, I have a private key I created with SSH in cygwin.
    ls -l
    
      -rw------- 1 user None 2602 Dec 24 17:26 id_rsa
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None  570 Dec 24 17:28 id_rsa.pub
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None 4562 Apr 27 08:03 known_hosts
    
    $ cat .ssh/id_rsa
    
      -----BEGIN OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
      b3Blb...........wcm9ib29rMQECAw==
      -----END OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
    
    Public key has been added to authorized_keys on the server.

In WinSCP how do I get it to try to connect to an SSH server with a private key I specify?

For example

I have a private key that I created with the SSH from cygwin.

C:\>where ssh
c:\cygwin\bin\ssh.exe

C:\>cd \cygwin

C:\cygwin>cygwin

user@hp-probook1 ~
$ where ssh
C:\cygwin\bin\ssh.exe

user@hp-probook1 ~
$ cd .ssh

user@hp-pb1 ~/.ssh
$ ls -l
total 13
-rw------- 1 user None 2602 Dec 24 17:26 id_rsa
-rw-r--r-- 1 user None  570 Dec 24 17:28 id_rsa.pub
-rw-r--r-- 1 user None 4562 Apr 27 08:03 known_hosts

user@hp-pb1 ~
$ cat .ssh/id_rsa
-----BEGIN OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
b3Blb...........wcm9ib29rMQECAw==
-----END OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----

user@hp-pb1 ~
$

So you see the private and public key there. (cygwin's ssh generates the public key id_rsa.pub from the private key id_rsa)

Here is WinSCP

enter image description here

I see no option to enter a private key in WinSCP

The public key has been added to authorized_keys on the server.

I just need the client program, in this case, WinSCP, to connect with the private key!

How do I get WinSCP to connect to an SSH server with a private key I specify, as I don't see an option to enter a private key?

Screenshot

  • For example, I have a private key I created with SSH in cygwin.
    ls -l
    
      -rw------- 1 user None 2602 Dec 24 17:26 id_rsa
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None  570 Dec 24 17:28 id_rsa.pub
      -rw-r--r-- 1 user None 4562 Apr 27 08:03 known_hosts
    
    $ cat .ssh/id_rsa
    
      -----BEGIN OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
      b3Blb...........wcm9ib29rMQECAw==
      -----END OPENSSH PRIVATE KEY-----
    
    Public key has been added to authorized_keys on the server.
added 71 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading