Skip to main content
edited tags; edited tags
Link
joe
  • 12.4k
  • 12
  • 68
  • 104
Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
interstar
interstar

Nokia E71 - USB mode and Linux and Python

I just got a Nokia E71, and a friend installed Python on it - which ought to be uber-cool.

But here's what's driving me mad at present :

I plug in the USB cable to connect to my Linux laptop.

It says "Select USB mode:" from which I can choose one of "Mass Storage" and "Media Transfer".

If I choose Mass Storage, the phone gets mounted on my computer as a drive called "disk". This lets me copy Python programs over.

However, now Python on the phone can't see the program (if I try "option -> run script" inside python. It can't see anything on this drive.)

OTOH, if I mount as Media Transfer, my computer can no longer se the drive, but now python can find the script on the "e:" drive.

There seems to be no way to have both the drive mounted from linux AND visible to Python at the same time. Anyone understand this? Or have experience with developing with Python for Nokia / Symbian?

Update :

Why the hell was this closed as not sys-admin related? It's about mounting drives and seeing them on a computer! What's not sys-admin about that?