Skip to main content
Post Reopened by music2myear, Chenmunka, Toto, Mureinik, Dave M
added 819 characters in body
Source Link
Androme
  • 260
  • 1
  • 5
  • 17

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

The /opt/myapp folder

bash-3.2$ ls -l
total 40624
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel        66 Apr  2 05:06 myapp
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel  20794374 Apr  2 05:05 myapp-1.0.jar

Path

bash-3.2$ echo $PATH
/opt/myapp:/Library/TeX/texbin::/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/usr/local/share/dotnet:~/.dotnet/tools:::/Users/accoun/bin

One of the examples is that an IntelliJ plugin runs the app to get information. The plugin will run /bin/bash -c myapp version as a process, however the output of that process is that bash: myapp: command not found. However if i open a console the run bash it worked just fine.

~ » /bin/bash                                    accoun@MACC02YX270LVDQ

The default interactive shell is now zsh.
To update your account to use zsh, please run `chsh -s /bin/zsh`.
For more details, please visit https://support.apple.com/kb/HT208050.
bash-3.2$ echo $PATH
/opt/myapp:/Library/TeX/texbin::/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/usr/local/share/dotnet:~/.dotnet/tools:::/Users/accoun/bin
bash-3.2$ myapp version
Myapp version 1.0
bash-3.2$

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

The /opt/myapp folder

bash-3.2$ ls -l
total 40624
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel        66 Apr  2 05:06 myapp
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel  20794374 Apr  2 05:05 myapp-1.0.jar

Path

bash-3.2$ echo $PATH
/opt/myapp:/Library/TeX/texbin::/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/usr/local/share/dotnet:~/.dotnet/tools:::/Users/accoun/bin

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

The /opt/myapp folder

bash-3.2$ ls -l
total 40624
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel        66 Apr  2 05:06 myapp
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel  20794374 Apr  2 05:05 myapp-1.0.jar

Path

bash-3.2$ echo $PATH
/opt/myapp:/Library/TeX/texbin::/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/usr/local/share/dotnet:~/.dotnet/tools:::/Users/accoun/bin

One of the examples is that an IntelliJ plugin runs the app to get information. The plugin will run /bin/bash -c myapp version as a process, however the output of that process is that bash: myapp: command not found. However if i open a console the run bash it worked just fine.

~ » /bin/bash                                    accoun@MACC02YX270LVDQ

The default interactive shell is now zsh.
To update your account to use zsh, please run `chsh -s /bin/zsh`.
For more details, please visit https://support.apple.com/kb/HT208050.
bash-3.2$ echo $PATH
/opt/myapp:/Library/TeX/texbin::/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/usr/local/share/dotnet:~/.dotnet/tools:::/Users/accoun/bin
bash-3.2$ myapp version
Myapp version 1.0
bash-3.2$
added 389 characters in body
Source Link
Androme
  • 260
  • 1
  • 5
  • 17

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

The /opt/myapp folder

bash-3.2$ ls -l
total 40624
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel        66 Apr  2 05:06 myapp
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel  20794374 Apr  2 05:05 myapp-1.0.jar

Path

bash-3.2$ echo $PATH
/opt/myapp:/Library/TeX/texbin::/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/usr/local/share/dotnet:~/.dotnet/tools:::/Users/accoun/bin

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

The /opt/myapp folder

bash-3.2$ ls -l
total 40624
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel        66 Apr  2 05:06 myapp
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel  20794374 Apr  2 05:05 myapp-1.0.jar

Path

bash-3.2$ echo $PATH
/opt/myapp:/Library/TeX/texbin::/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/TeX/texbin:/usr/local/share/dotnet:~/.dotnet/tools:::/Users/accoun/bin
added 82 characters in body
Source Link
Androme
  • 260
  • 1
  • 5
  • 17

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zshrczsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zshrc to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

I have developed a java application that i want to publish to my users. This application is an ancillary application used by many different shell scripts, such as sh, su, bash and zsh to name a few. My current approach is to put my program in /opt/myapp with a sh script to run the app.

#!/bin/bash 
"$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" -jar /opt/myapp/myapp-1.0.jar $@

And I ask my users to add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/myapp to their source such as ~/.zsrch. However I keep having issues with some scripts or programs not finding the app bash: myapp: command not found however it would work fine in /bin/su and /bin/zhc.

What is the right way to "install" my app on Linux and MacOS so that it is available across all shells.

Post Closed as "Needs details or clarity" by DavidPostill
Source Link
Androme
  • 260
  • 1
  • 5
  • 17
Loading