Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 9, 2021 at 0:27 history edited anon CC BY-SA 4.0
added 112 characters in body
Apr 9, 2021 at 0:26 comment added anon You can see if Nordic Keyboards (eBay) have your model, but even if so, it takes about a week or so to come. So maybe a new laptop is the way to go in this case. I added that option (obvious last choice) to my answer.
Apr 9, 2021 at 0:25 comment added Astroguy13 Thanks. I can pull it if it's that simple. If there is a chance my problem won't be solved thought then the only option seems to be to get a new keyboard. But I live now in the US and I bought the laptop some 10 years ago from another country. It's likely I won't find a compatible keyboard for the same model. It looks like I need to buy a new laptop since I don't have the luxury of time. I have a gigantic amount of work to finish in the next few days.
Apr 9, 2021 at 0:19 comment added Ramhound The simplest and easiest method would be to pull that ribbon cable. However, as you indicate, you don't feel you have the expertise to do that. However, if you pull that ribbon cable, it still might not solve your problem. Only replacing the keyboard, which will involve more than just pulling the cable, will solve the problem
Apr 9, 2021 at 0:12 history edited anon CC BY-SA 4.0
added 51 characters in body
Apr 9, 2021 at 0:08 comment added anon All you can do is try, but if you do not have the expertise to open the machine and remove cables (you said) I would advise against it and take to a repair shop. i have taken laptops apart myself. I think there is some chance it will not even start without its own keyboard.
Apr 9, 2021 at 0:06 comment added Astroguy13 But I have a USB keyboard. Can I turn the machine using a US keyboard and no built-in keyboard?
Apr 8, 2021 at 23:59 comment added anon It is a hardware issue, so unlikely software can fix it. I replaced the keyboard on my Lenovo X230 because of a defective power button. No way to even turn on the machine without the keyboard.
Apr 8, 2021 at 23:58 comment added Astroguy13 I think I would have to remove the ribbon cable but I don't have the necessary equipment or the expertise to do so. I wonder if I can make it stop working using software
Apr 8, 2021 at 23:57 comment added anon You can try removing it, but I think possibly the laptop will not work without out it (even though keys are sticking). E.g. most laptops know what parts the have. Also, you likely cannot get into BIOS if you need to with a USB keyboard.
Apr 8, 2021 at 23:55 comment added Astroguy13 Thank you. The machine is working well. I just have to finish work with a deadline today. I can't use any other computer system. I bought a USB keyboard hoping to be able to finish my work, but the built-in keyboard just keeps clicking random keys on its own. I just need to disable it to be able to do my work. It's hard to believe that there are no options to disable that device. Thank you
Apr 8, 2021 at 23:51 history answered anon CC BY-SA 4.0