Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • Thank you. The machine is working well. I just have to finish work with a deadline today. I can't use any other computer system. I bought a USB keyboard hoping to be able to finish my work, but the built-in keyboard just keeps clicking random keys on its own. I just need to disable it to be able to do my work. It's hard to believe that there are no options to disable that device. Thank you
    – Astroguy13
    Commented Apr 8, 2021 at 23:55
  • You can try removing it, but I think possibly the laptop will not work without out it (even though keys are sticking). E.g. most laptops know what parts the have. Also, you likely cannot get into BIOS if you need to with a USB keyboard.
    – anon
    Commented Apr 8, 2021 at 23:57
  • I think I would have to remove the ribbon cable but I don't have the necessary equipment or the expertise to do so. I wonder if I can make it stop working using software
    – Astroguy13
    Commented Apr 8, 2021 at 23:58
  • It is a hardware issue, so unlikely software can fix it. I replaced the keyboard on my Lenovo X230 because of a defective power button. No way to even turn on the machine without the keyboard.
    – anon
    Commented Apr 8, 2021 at 23:59
  • But I have a USB keyboard. Can I turn the machine using a US keyboard and no built-in keyboard?
    – Astroguy13
    Commented Apr 9, 2021 at 0:06