Skip to main content
added 402 characters in body
Source Link

I spilled coffee on my built in laptop keyboard. As a result, some of the keyboard keys are no longer working. What's worse is that sometimes it gets crazy and some keys are clicking spontaneously. I bought an external USB keyboard but I'm having trouble getting it to work while the built in keyboard is randomly activating keys. I tried uninstalling the keyboard driver using the device manager but when I restart windows re-installs the default driver automatically. I do not know how to disable the built in keyboard. I tried installing the wrong driver but then the keyboard got even more crazy. Can I just try to remove the built in keyboard?

Update: I downloaded DevManView which is an alternative to device manager. It successfully uninstalled the driver (or disabled it I really don't know) but still the keyboard is working. For instance, it keeps clicking on the key 'c' spontaneously. So the question still remains: how can I disable my built-in keyboard? I do not need it. I would be happy to disable it permanently. Please advice.

Thank you

I spilled coffee on my built in laptop keyboard. As a result, some of the keyboard keys are no longer working. What's worse is that sometimes it gets crazy and some keys are clicking spontaneously. I bought an external USB keyboard but I'm having trouble getting it to work while the built in keyboard is randomly activating keys. I tried uninstalling the keyboard driver using the device manager but when I restart windows re-installs the default driver automatically. I do not know how to disable the built in keyboard. I tried installing the wrong driver but then the keyboard got even more crazy. Can I just try to remove the built in keyboard?

Thank you

I spilled coffee on my built in laptop keyboard. As a result, some of the keyboard keys are no longer working. What's worse is that sometimes it gets crazy and some keys are clicking spontaneously. I bought an external USB keyboard but I'm having trouble getting it to work while the built in keyboard is randomly activating keys. I tried uninstalling the keyboard driver using the device manager but when I restart windows re-installs the default driver automatically. I do not know how to disable the built in keyboard. I tried installing the wrong driver but then the keyboard got even more crazy. Can I just try to remove the built in keyboard?

Update: I downloaded DevManView which is an alternative to device manager. It successfully uninstalled the driver (or disabled it I really don't know) but still the keyboard is working. For instance, it keeps clicking on the key 'c' spontaneously. So the question still remains: how can I disable my built-in keyboard? I do not need it. I would be happy to disable it permanently. Please advice.

Thank you

Source Link

Disabling the built in keyboard and using an external USB keyboard

I spilled coffee on my built in laptop keyboard. As a result, some of the keyboard keys are no longer working. What's worse is that sometimes it gets crazy and some keys are clicking spontaneously. I bought an external USB keyboard but I'm having trouble getting it to work while the built in keyboard is randomly activating keys. I tried uninstalling the keyboard driver using the device manager but when I restart windows re-installs the default driver automatically. I do not know how to disable the built in keyboard. I tried installing the wrong driver but then the keyboard got even more crazy. Can I just try to remove the built in keyboard?

Thank you