Skip to main content
added 140 characters in body
Source Link
Biswapriyo
  • 11.3k
  • 10
  • 48
  • 80

Since last two days, the HDD was working kind of slowly. After a machine reboot, PC can't boot from it. I have dualboot setup with ArchLinux and Windows 10. Now only the motherboard logo is shown, no grub menu. If I boot from a ArchLinux USB drive the following messages are shown at boot time and mounting time:

[sdb] No Caching mode page found
[sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 0 op 0x0:(READ) flags 0x0 phys_seq 1 prio class 0
Buffer I/O error on sdb, logical block 0, async page read

The disk can be mounted, files can be read but the operations are slow with those above errors. What should I do now? I will be copying the data to a new drive. Can this faulty HDD be revived? Also please provide any explanation about the cause of this issue.

Since last two days, the HDD was working kind of slowly. After a machine reboot, PC can't boot from it. I have dualboot setup with ArchLinux and Windows 10. Now only the motherboard logo is shown, no grub menu. If I boot from a ArchLinux USB drive the following messages are shown at boot time and mounting time:

[sdb] No Caching mode page found
[sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 0 op 0x0:(READ) flags 0x0 phys_seq 1 prio class 0
Buffer I/O error on sdb, logical block 0, async page read

The disk can be mounted, files can be read but the operations are slow with those above errors. What should I do now?

Since last two days, the HDD was working kind of slowly. After a machine reboot, PC can't boot from it. I have dualboot setup with ArchLinux and Windows 10. Now only the motherboard logo is shown, no grub menu. If I boot from a ArchLinux USB drive the following messages are shown at boot time and mounting time:

[sdb] No Caching mode page found
[sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 0 op 0x0:(READ) flags 0x0 phys_seq 1 prio class 0
Buffer I/O error on sdb, logical block 0, async page read

The disk can be mounted, files can be read but the operations are slow with those above errors. What should I do now? I will be copying the data to a new drive. Can this faulty HDD be revived? Also please provide any explanation about the cause of this issue.

Source Link
Biswapriyo
  • 11.3k
  • 10
  • 48
  • 80

PC can not boot from HDD, buffer I/O error

Since last two days, the HDD was working kind of slowly. After a machine reboot, PC can't boot from it. I have dualboot setup with ArchLinux and Windows 10. Now only the motherboard logo is shown, no grub menu. If I boot from a ArchLinux USB drive the following messages are shown at boot time and mounting time:

[sdb] No Caching mode page found
[sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 0 op 0x0:(READ) flags 0x0 phys_seq 1 prio class 0
Buffer I/O error on sdb, logical block 0, async page read

The disk can be mounted, files can be read but the operations are slow with those above errors. What should I do now?