Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • Thank you for your answer. Maybe I'm not clear, I'm having issues with using the same key to login to scp that I use for ssh, but I was attempting to do the extra steps just to make sure there wasn't issues... Maybe that was confusing to the post. Essentially, why am I having issues using my ssh key in scp? I can login fine with ssh, so why is scp giving me an issue? thank you.
    – MXBuster
    Commented Apr 1, 2021 at 23:26
  • ah okay. you need to specify the key: scp -i ~/.ssh/id_rsa.pub FILENAME USER@SERVER:/home/USER/FILENAME. you're missing -i. i thought you were trying to copy it. Commented Apr 2, 2021 at 0:48
  • I was trying to connect the key to the server again just to see if there was an issue somehow with the key, but it doesn't seem to be the case, and the issue seems to be with scp.. I don't know.... What does the "-i" do? There seems to be a bunch of ways to get the key up there, but the ssh-copy-id seems to be the best at least for ssh.... Why scp isn't working is still the mystery! Thank you.
    – MXBuster
    Commented Apr 2, 2021 at 0:52
  • -i is the flag meaning 'use this identity. so scp -i ~/id_rsa.pub means 'scp using this key to login to the remote server' but scp ~/id_rsa.pub means 'scp this key file to the remote server' Commented Apr 2, 2021 at 0:55
  • 1
    Thank you for the information. I understand now that the issue was that I wasn't including the key at all. I thought, similar to SSH, I wouldn't have to include the key when connecting hence my confusion on the matter. I appreciate your help with this!
    – MXBuster
    Commented Apr 2, 2021 at 15:31