Skip to main content
deleted 5 characters in body
Source Link

I'm trying to connect from a laptop (computer1) to a host (remote1). On computer1 I have user1 on the host I have a different user (user2). Both systems are running Debian, the remote1 system is a clean install of Debian Buster.

The error I'm receiving is the following:

Unable to connect to libvirt.

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

Verify that the 'libvirtd' daemon is running
on the remote host.

Libvirt URI is: qemu+ssh://remoteuser@172user2@172.25.230.57/system

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/connection.py", line 904, in _do_open
    self._backend.open(self._do_creds_password)
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtinst/connection.py", line 148, in open
    open_flags)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 105, in openAuth
    if ret is None:raise libvirtError('virConnectOpenAuth() failed')
libvirtError: End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I can ssh with user 1 from computer 1 to remote1 with:

user1@computer1:~$ ssh [email protected]

and I'm prompted with a password request. I also tried setting up passwordless login using private-public key and that works simply ssh-ing but trying virt-manager I get the error.

As soon as I try:

user1@computer1:~$ virt-manager -c 'qemu+ssh://[email protected]/system'

I get the error.

As it doesn't matter if I'm using public key or password authentication (I get the error in both scenarios) I reverted back to password authentication.

On remote1 I only have the following in /etc/ssh/sshd_config:

Port 22
PasswordAuthentication yes
ChallengeResponseAuthentication no
UsePAM yes
X11Forwarding yes
AcceptEnv LANG LC_*
Subsystem       sftp    /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server

In /var/log/auth.log I can't seem to find a failed authentication.

Any idea/suggetion on what this is and why?

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I'm new to Linux and sys-admin so after 3 days of tries and constant googling I'm at a loss.

I'm trying to connect from a laptop (computer1) to a host (remote1). On computer1 I have user1 on the host I have a different user (user2). Both systems are running Debian, the remote1 system is a clean install of Debian Buster.

The error I'm receiving is the following:

Unable to connect to libvirt.

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

Verify that the 'libvirtd' daemon is running
on the remote host.

Libvirt URI is: qemu+ssh://remoteuser@172.25.230.57/system

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/connection.py", line 904, in _do_open
    self._backend.open(self._do_creds_password)
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtinst/connection.py", line 148, in open
    open_flags)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 105, in openAuth
    if ret is None:raise libvirtError('virConnectOpenAuth() failed')
libvirtError: End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I can ssh with user 1 from computer 1 to remote1 with:

user1@computer1:~$ ssh [email protected]

and I'm prompted with a password request. I also tried setting up passwordless login using private-public key and that works simply ssh-ing but trying virt-manager I get the error.

As soon as I try:

user1@computer1:~$ virt-manager -c 'qemu+ssh://[email protected]/system'

I get the error.

As it doesn't matter if I'm using public key or password authentication (I get the error in both scenarios) I reverted back to password authentication.

On remote1 I only have the following in /etc/ssh/sshd_config:

Port 22
PasswordAuthentication yes
ChallengeResponseAuthentication no
UsePAM yes
X11Forwarding yes
AcceptEnv LANG LC_*
Subsystem       sftp    /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server

In /var/log/auth.log I can't seem to find a failed authentication.

Any idea/suggetion on what this is and why?

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I'm new to Linux and sys-admin so after 3 days of tries and constant googling I'm at a loss.

I'm trying to connect from a laptop (computer1) to a host (remote1). On computer1 I have user1 on the host I have a different user (user2). Both systems are running Debian, the remote1 system is a clean install of Debian Buster.

The error I'm receiving is the following:

Unable to connect to libvirt.

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

Verify that the 'libvirtd' daemon is running
on the remote host.

Libvirt URI is: qemu+ssh://user2@172.25.230.57/system

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/connection.py", line 904, in _do_open
    self._backend.open(self._do_creds_password)
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtinst/connection.py", line 148, in open
    open_flags)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 105, in openAuth
    if ret is None:raise libvirtError('virConnectOpenAuth() failed')
libvirtError: End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I can ssh with user 1 from computer 1 to remote1 with:

user1@computer1:~$ ssh [email protected]

and I'm prompted with a password request. I also tried setting up passwordless login using private-public key and that works simply ssh-ing but trying virt-manager I get the error.

As soon as I try:

user1@computer1:~$ virt-manager -c 'qemu+ssh://[email protected]/system'

I get the error.

As it doesn't matter if I'm using public key or password authentication (I get the error in both scenarios) I reverted back to password authentication.

On remote1 I only have the following in /etc/ssh/sshd_config:

Port 22
PasswordAuthentication yes
ChallengeResponseAuthentication no
UsePAM yes
X11Forwarding yes
AcceptEnv LANG LC_*
Subsystem       sftp    /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server

In /var/log/auth.log I can't seem to find a failed authentication.

Any idea/suggetion on what this is and why?

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I'm new to Linux and sys-admin so after 3 days of tries and constant googling I'm at a loss.

Source Link

Can't connect to a remote host with virt-manager

I'm trying to connect from a laptop (computer1) to a host (remote1). On computer1 I have user1 on the host I have a different user (user2). Both systems are running Debian, the remote1 system is a clean install of Debian Buster.

The error I'm receiving is the following:

Unable to connect to libvirt.

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

Verify that the 'libvirtd' daemon is running
on the remote host.

Libvirt URI is: qemu+ssh://[email protected]/system

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/connection.py", line 904, in _do_open
    self._backend.open(self._do_creds_password)
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtinst/connection.py", line 148, in open
    open_flags)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 105, in openAuth
    if ret is None:raise libvirtError('virConnectOpenAuth() failed')
libvirtError: End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I can ssh with user 1 from computer 1 to remote1 with:

user1@computer1:~$ ssh [email protected]

and I'm prompted with a password request. I also tried setting up passwordless login using private-public key and that works simply ssh-ing but trying virt-manager I get the error.

As soon as I try:

user1@computer1:~$ virt-manager -c 'qemu+ssh://[email protected]/system'

I get the error.

As it doesn't matter if I'm using public key or password authentication (I get the error in both scenarios) I reverted back to password authentication.

On remote1 I only have the following in /etc/ssh/sshd_config:

Port 22
PasswordAuthentication yes
ChallengeResponseAuthentication no
UsePAM yes
X11Forwarding yes
AcceptEnv LANG LC_*
Subsystem       sftp    /usr/lib/openssh/sftp-server

In /var/log/auth.log I can't seem to find a failed authentication.

Any idea/suggetion on what this is and why?

End of file while reading data: sh: 1: nc: not found: Input/output error

I'm new to Linux and sys-admin so after 3 days of tries and constant googling I'm at a loss.