Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Seems promising, except I can't find a single KVM that offers an additional USB 3.0 port. Will keep looking; seems there are only about 5-10 total KVM models on the market right now that actually remember what the V stands for. Lots of USB switchers, though.
    – Zephyr
    Commented Mar 12, 2021 at 21:05
  • @Zephyr - I saw a couple on Amazon by CKLau and Tripp Lite. Not sure which is better, but they both have M+K USB ports + 2 USB 3.0 Device ports. One thing to be aware of with USB KVM switches is the M+K USB ports may not support special button pass-through if your mouse or keyboard has special functions.
    – Blaelph
    Commented Mar 16, 2021 at 0:39
  • I ended up going with the Tripp Lite KVM. Very few reviews but the specs look good. I'm in the process of setting everything up now (so many wires!). I'll let you know how it turns out.
    – Zephyr
    Commented Mar 16, 2021 at 0:43
  • The Tripp Lite KVM works pretty darn well. The media keys on the keyboard function. I also have both a powered USB-3 and unpowered USB-2 hubs plugged into the KVM and they're working for the most part too. I don't have much plugged into them yet so I can't attest to the overall bandwidth available, but I'm pleased with the setup. Thank you for your input!
    – Zephyr
    Commented Mar 16, 2021 at 4:18
  • You're welcome. I'm happy to hear your setup is working for you.
    – Blaelph
    Commented Mar 17, 2021 at 1:18