Skip to main content
edited title
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

How to use 1one external hddhard drive to backup mac/windows/linuxback up Windows and Linux as well as macOS with Time Machine?

I have an external hdd I'm usinghard disk drive I use for all of my backups. I created an NTFS partition that I backed up Windows 10 to. Then I created an ext4 partition and backed up Linux Mint to that. Now, I created another 300gb of unallocated space that I'm trying to back up my MacBook to using time machine.

  • I created an NTFS partition that I backed up Windows 10 to.
  • Then I created an ext4 partition and backed up Linux Mint to that.
  • Now, I created another 300gb of unallocated space that I'm trying to back up my MacBook to using Time Machine.

The macMac disk utility app only shows the NTFS partition and doesn't show the free space so I could create a new partition. 

Can I create an APFS partition from windowsWindows/linuxLinux and then set time machineTime Machine to use that space for its backup? Or is this just not possible to back up all 3 operations systems on a single external drive? 

It seems like macMac wants its own hddhard disk drive with no other partitions to use time machineTime Machine.

How to use 1 external hdd to backup mac/windows/linux

I have an external hdd I'm using for all of my backups. I created an NTFS partition that I backed up Windows 10 to. Then I created an ext4 partition and backed up Linux Mint to that. Now, I created another 300gb of unallocated space that I'm trying to back up my MacBook to using time machine. The mac disk utility app only shows the NTFS partition and doesn't show the free space so I could create a new partition. Can I create an APFS partition from windows/linux and then set time machine to use that space for its backup? Or is this just not possible to back up all 3 operations systems on a single external drive? It seems like mac wants its own hdd with no other partitions to use time machine.

How to use one external hard drive to back up Windows and Linux as well as macOS with Time Machine?

I have an external hard disk drive I use for all of my backups.

  • I created an NTFS partition that I backed up Windows 10 to.
  • Then I created an ext4 partition and backed up Linux Mint to that.
  • Now, I created another 300gb of unallocated space that I'm trying to back up my MacBook to using Time Machine.

The Mac disk utility app only shows the NTFS partition and doesn't show the free space so I could create a new partition. 

Can I create an APFS partition from Windows/Linux and then set Time Machine to use that space for its backup? Or is this just not possible to back up all 3 operations systems on a single external drive? 

It seems like Mac wants its own hard disk drive with no other partitions to use Time Machine.

Source Link
Steve
  • 111
  • 3

How to use 1 external hdd to backup mac/windows/linux

I have an external hdd I'm using for all of my backups. I created an NTFS partition that I backed up Windows 10 to. Then I created an ext4 partition and backed up Linux Mint to that. Now, I created another 300gb of unallocated space that I'm trying to back up my MacBook to using time machine. The mac disk utility app only shows the NTFS partition and doesn't show the free space so I could create a new partition. Can I create an APFS partition from windows/linux and then set time machine to use that space for its backup? Or is this just not possible to back up all 3 operations systems on a single external drive? It seems like mac wants its own hdd with no other partitions to use time machine.