Skip to main content
[Edit removed during grace period]
Source Link
deleted 37 characters in body
Source Link

I'm only running one physical server at a time, (think faux cluster in power saving state) which hosts VMs and File shares for those VMs. VMs and Share data The host/hypervisor's shares which are on DFSR groupsreplicated to maintainother host/hypervisors on the Faux cluster sync ofdomain, are home to VMs and some TB of data between multiple hypervisors. One of the VMs is the DC, and the shares of the host need to be on the domain. On reboot, host's network location awareness service obviously doesn't see the domain up yet and joins public network. While the DC eventually comes up, it doesn't see the shares, as host isn't on domain. I'm not sure how to address this. The couple things I've tried haven't played out.

I've tinkered with delaying NLA and adding dependencies to the service, which didn't work.
I've tinkered with a startup script that restarts NLA, and while this probably works opening security to scripting makes me squirm.
I read about cached credentials to get the host on the domain, but unsure how this would work automatically for NLA.

What's the proper way to do this?

I'm only running one physical server at a time, (think faux cluster in power saving state) which hosts VMs and File shares for those VMs. VMs and Share data are on DFSR groups to maintain the Faux cluster sync of VMs and data between multiple hypervisors. One of the VMs is the DC, and the shares of the host need to be on the domain. On reboot, host's network location awareness service obviously doesn't see the domain up yet and joins public network. While the DC eventually comes up, it doesn't see the shares, as host isn't on domain. I'm not sure how to address this. The couple things I've tried haven't played out.

I've tinkered with delaying NLA and adding dependencies to the service, which didn't work.
I've tinkered with a startup script that restarts NLA, and while this probably works opening security to scripting makes me squirm.
I read about cached credentials to get the host on the domain, but unsure how this would work automatically for NLA.

What's the proper way to do this?

I'm only running one physical server at a time (think faux cluster in power saving state). The host/hypervisor's shares which are replicated to other host/hypervisors on the domain, are home to VMs and some TB of data. One of the VMs is the DC, and the shares of the host need to be on the domain. On reboot, host's network location awareness service obviously doesn't see the domain up yet and joins public network. While the DC eventually comes up, it doesn't see the shares, as host isn't on domain. I'm not sure how to address this. The couple things I've tried haven't played out.

I've tinkered with delaying NLA and adding dependencies to the service, which didn't work.
I've tinkered with a startup script that restarts NLA, and while this probably works opening security to scripting makes me squirm.
I read about cached credentials to get the host on the domain, but unsure how this would work automatically for NLA.

What's the proper way to do this?

added 183 characters in body
Source Link

I'm only running one physical server at a time, (think faux cluster in power saving state) which hosts VMs and File shares for those VMs it hosts. VMs and Share data are on DFSR groups to maintain the Faux cluster sync of VMs and data between multiple hypervisors. One of the VMs is the DC, and the shares of the host need to be on the domain. On reboot, host's network location awareness service obviously doesn't see the domain up yet and joins public network. While the DC eventually comes up, it doesn't see the shares, as host isn't on domain. I'm not sure how to address this. The couple things I've tried haven't played out.

I've tinkered with delaying NLA and adding dependencies to the service, which didn't work.
I've tinkered with a startup script that restarts NLA, and while this probably works opening security to scripting makes me squirm.
I read about cached credentials to get the host on the domain, but unsure how this would work automatically for NLA.

What's the proper way to do this?

I'm only running one physical server which hosts shares for VMs it hosts. One of the VMs is the DC, and the shares of the host need to be on the domain. On reboot, host's network location awareness service obviously doesn't see the domain up yet and joins public network. While the DC eventually comes up, it doesn't see the shares, as host isn't on domain. I'm not sure how to address this. The couple things I've tried haven't played out.

I've tinkered with delaying NLA and adding dependencies to the service, which didn't work.
I've tinkered with a startup script that restarts NLA, and while this probably works opening security to scripting makes me squirm.
I read about cached credentials to get the host on the domain, but unsure how this would work automatically for NLA.

What's the proper way to do this?

I'm only running one physical server at a time, (think faux cluster in power saving state) which hosts VMs and File shares for those VMs. VMs and Share data are on DFSR groups to maintain the Faux cluster sync of VMs and data between multiple hypervisors. One of the VMs is the DC, and the shares of the host need to be on the domain. On reboot, host's network location awareness service obviously doesn't see the domain up yet and joins public network. While the DC eventually comes up, it doesn't see the shares, as host isn't on domain. I'm not sure how to address this. The couple things I've tried haven't played out.

I've tinkered with delaying NLA and adding dependencies to the service, which didn't work.
I've tinkered with a startup script that restarts NLA, and while this probably works opening security to scripting makes me squirm.
I read about cached credentials to get the host on the domain, but unsure how this would work automatically for NLA.

What's the proper way to do this?

added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading