Skip to main content

Timeline for Share WiFi to Ethernet

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 1, 2021 at 18:04 comment added BobTW I don't really have any idea how to set an IP into static or even check if a specific ip is static or not I do ipconfig /all. see all my ips but don't really know what to look for
Mar 1, 2021 at 3:06 review First posts
Mar 1, 2021 at 12:32
Feb 25, 2021 at 2:08 comment added Blaelph Cable type detection on gigabit adapters is automatic. I think you need to bridge the LAN adapters on the host before you share with the sharing tab on the wifi adapter (see answer #1 on the link above). The second answer mentions they had to set a static IP address on the bridge connection to make it work. I don't have a comparable PC setup to test. Sorry I can't give you a more definitive answer.
Feb 24, 2021 at 3:52 comment added BobTW My nic supports gigabit and the link doesn't solve my problem as I just need to share my wireless to a single lan. The normal sharing tab works but the internet doesn't flow to ethernet cable. Do I have to edit something in my nic driver manually to make it work like a crossover ?
Feb 23, 2021 at 0:58 comment added Blaelph After doing a little more research, it appears my understanding connecting 2 PCs directly together may be a bit outdated. You might be able to use a straight-through ethernet cable if your NICs are new enough (gigabit). Did you check out the link @music2myear shared? You might need to set a static IP for the wired adapter in the host PC.
Feb 22, 2021 at 8:51 comment added BobTW superuser.com/questions/244583/… 'How to tell a Ethernet cable is conventional or crossover. In the 4th comment, is the user talking about ethernet card as in mobo's nic or modem's ? if it's the former, how can I make my motherboard recognize the cable as crossover ? . It's my first time knowing that not all ethernet cable is the same.
Feb 22, 2021 at 2:44 comment added Blaelph If you want to connect 2 computers NICs (network interface card) directly (with no router), you have to use a crossover ethernet cable.
Feb 20, 2021 at 11:12 history edited BobTW CC BY-SA 4.0
added 327 characters in body
Feb 20, 2021 at 5:07 review Close votes
Mar 7, 2021 at 3:02
Feb 20, 2021 at 4:43 comment added music2myear Does this answer your question? Windows 7 share internet connection with multiple network interfaces
Feb 20, 2021 at 4:15 history asked BobTW CC BY-SA 4.0