Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 1
    Does this answer your question? Windows 7 share internet connection with multiple network interfaces Commented Feb 20, 2021 at 4:43
  • 1
    If you want to connect 2 computers NICs (network interface card) directly (with no router), you have to use a crossover ethernet cable.
    – Blaelph
    Commented Feb 22, 2021 at 2:44
  • superuser.com/questions/244583/… 'How to tell a Ethernet cable is conventional or crossover. In the 4th comment, is the user talking about ethernet card as in mobo's nic or modem's ? if it's the former, how can I make my motherboard recognize the cable as crossover ? . It's my first time knowing that not all ethernet cable is the same.
    – BobTW
    Commented Feb 22, 2021 at 8:51
  • After doing a little more research, it appears my understanding connecting 2 PCs directly together may be a bit outdated. You might be able to use a straight-through ethernet cable if your NICs are new enough (gigabit). Did you check out the link @music2myear shared? You might need to set a static IP for the wired adapter in the host PC.
    – Blaelph
    Commented Feb 23, 2021 at 0:58
  • My nic supports gigabit and the link doesn't solve my problem as I just need to share my wireless to a single lan. The normal sharing tab works but the internet doesn't flow to ethernet cable. Do I have to edit something in my nic driver manually to make it work like a crossover ?
    – BobTW
    Commented Feb 24, 2021 at 3:52