Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • I appreciate the suggestions to try. I tried all of these steps, but unfortunately the issue still persists.
    – jwitt98
    Commented Feb 15, 2021 at 21:29
  • I've had updating the BIOS in the back of my mind, so I went ahead and did that and reset to factory default, but still no luck. There are no options in this machine's BIOS to to switch between AHCI and IDE. Per HP documentation it can only be done via the HP replicated setup linux based utility. I can see in device manager that is is currently set to AHCI.
    – jwitt98
    Commented Feb 16, 2021 at 4:09
  • Another thing to note is that I can do a clean install of 20H2 on this machine and sysprep it without any issues. I can sysprep the 1703 image on this machine without any issues. The issue only occurs upon the first boot after updating 1703 to 20H2 and running sysprep
    – jwitt98
    Commented Feb 16, 2021 at 4:09
  • 1
    It just so happens I do have a 1903 ISO and that was going to be my next step... try 1903 as an intermediate update
    – jwitt98
    Commented Feb 17, 2021 at 23:07
  • 1
    Finally, I have had success! Thank you very much for all the suggestions! I will award you the bounty since some of your suggestions led me to the eventual solution.
    – jwitt98
    Commented Feb 21, 2021 at 4:42