Skip to main content
Added correct markdown for monospaced code ; Grammatical corrections (incl. formatting and redundancy removal)
Source Link
JW0914
  • 8.3k
  • 7
  • 31
  • 50

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installedinstalling Ubuntu infor dual boot too-booting. Then recentlyRecently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with aan SSD of the same size., so I copied all the partitions to the SSD (GPT partitioning) using GParted and installed the SSD in the laptop. Now on

On startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.:

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

  • Boot Ubuntu normally
  • Select the "Windows Boot Manager on /boot/sda1 or select bootmgfw.efi manually, however it loads a Recovery BSOD, stating the following with options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen):
    File: \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken
    Error code: 0xc000000e
    

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windowsWindows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So, so what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to the boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome

How do I fix this, preferably something that can be done from linuxLinux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.Windows?

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installed Ubuntu in dual boot too. Then recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with a SSD of the same size. I copied all the partitions to the SSD (GPT partitioning) using GParted and installed the SSD in the laptop. Now on startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome, preferably something that can be done from linux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, later installing Ubuntu for dual-booting. Recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with an SSD of the same size, so I copied all the partitions to the SSD (GPT partitioning) using GParted and installed the SSD in the laptop.

On startup, GRUB is loaded and I can:

  • Boot Ubuntu normally
  • Select the "Windows Boot Manager on /boot/sda1 or select bootmgfw.efi manually, however it loads a Recovery BSOD, stating the following with options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen):
    File: \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken
    Error code: 0xc000000e
    

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the Windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition), so what I need to do is give the right partition to the boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that.

How do I fix this, preferably something that can be done from Linux and doesn't involve a reinstall of Windows?

added 19 characters in body
Source Link

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installed Ubuntu in dual boot too. Then recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with a SSD of the same size. I copied all the partitions to the SSD (GPT partitioning) using GParted and installed the SSD in the laptop. Now on startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome, preferably something that can be done from linux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installed Ubuntu in dual boot too. Then recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with a SSD of the same size. I copied all the partitions to the SSD using GParted and installed the SSD. Now on startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome, preferably something that can be done from linux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installed Ubuntu in dual boot too. Then recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with a SSD of the same size. I copied all the partitions to the SSD (GPT partitioning) using GParted and installed the SSD in the laptop. Now on startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome, preferably something that can be done from linux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.

added 17 characters in body
Source Link

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installed Ubuntu in dual boot too. Then recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with a SSD of the same size. I copied all the partitions to the SSD using GParted and installed the SSD. Now on startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome, preferably something that can be done from linux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installed Ubuntu in dual boot too. Then recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with a SSD. I copied all the partitions to the SSD using GParted and installed the SSD. Now on startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome, preferably something that can be done from linux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.

I bought my PC with Windows 10 on it, and later installed Ubuntu in dual boot too. Then recently, I wanted to replace the HDD inside with a SSD of the same size. I copied all the partitions to the SSD using GParted and installed the SSD. Now on startup, GRUB is loaded and I can boot on Ubuntu normally. I can also select "Windows Boot Manager (on /boot/sda1)", or manually select the bootmgfw.efi file manually.

But then I arrive on a blue screen for "recovery", saying that the file \WINDOWS\system32\winload.efi is missing or broken and giving me error code 0xc000000e. It also gives me options to access the recovery environment (F1) or boot parameters (F8) but those don't work (same screen).

As I understand it, Windows Boot Manager is loaded but cannot find the windows boot loader (probably because not looking into the right partition). So what I need to do is "just" give the right partition to boot loader, but I have no idea how to do that. Any solution is welcome, preferably something that can be done from linux and doesn't involve a full reinstall of windows.

Source Link
Loading