Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Source Link

MacOS X Catalina VM froze on boot

I am attempting to set up a MacOS X Catalina virtual machine on VirtualBox 6.1.16 r140961 (Qt5.6.2). I followed the guide at WikiGain and loaded into a UEFI interactive shell. I found a user in the comments with the same problem and a link to a solution. I followed the link to a SuperUser answer and followed the instructions to boot the boot.efi file. I saw a bunch of white text scroll past, as is expected in the WikiGain article. Then the screen froze, and I saw a bunch of lines containing the string Err(0xe).

This is my 4th time attempting to set up a Mac VM on my computer with different tutorials and a similar error. I am able to sucessfully run Windows and Linux VMs, but not Mac. Virtualization is enabled in my BIOS. I only need this VM to run as a server, so I do not need sound or a normal display size.

Links to images showing the problem: