Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1521504864626483201
Question Protected by CommunityBot
added 19 characters in body
Source Link
Hastur
  • 19.1k
  • 9
  • 53
  • 98

I installed 64bit Kali 2020.4 in vmware workstation pro. After
After that, all I did was grant superuser permission to my current (default) user, and ran some updates via sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade. Everything
Everything went fine and I closed off the machine. Now when

When I logged back in again, I cantwas not able to access the terminal. Not from the panel, neither by right clicking and opening a termal herefrom the desktop. It
It shows an error "Failed to launch preferred application for category "TerminalEmulator" "

Failed to launch preferred application for category "TerminalEmulator"

I also entered my file manager, and everything is empty there. How do I fix these?

I installed 64bit Kali 2020.4 in vmware workstation pro. After that, all I did was grant superuser permission to my current (default) user, and ran some updates via sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade. Everything went fine and I closed off the machine. Now when I logged back in, I cant access the terminal. Not from the panel, neither by right clicking and opening a termal here. It shows an error "Failed to launch preferred application for category "TerminalEmulator" " I also entered my file manager, and everything is empty there. How do I fix these?

I installed 64bit Kali 2020.4 in vmware workstation pro.
After that, all I did was grant superuser permission to my current (default) user, and ran some updates via sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade.
Everything went fine and I closed off the machine.

When I logged back in again, I was not able to access the terminal. Not from the panel, neither by right clicking and opening a termal from the desktop.
It shows an error

Failed to launch preferred application for category "TerminalEmulator"

I also entered my file manager, and everything is empty there. How do I fix these?

Source Link
iscream
  • 177
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5

Kali Linux Failed to launch preferred application for category “TerminalEmulator” and all files missing

I installed 64bit Kali 2020.4 in vmware workstation pro. After that, all I did was grant superuser permission to my current (default) user, and ran some updates via sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade. Everything went fine and I closed off the machine. Now when I logged back in, I cant access the terminal. Not from the panel, neither by right clicking and opening a termal here. It shows an error "Failed to launch preferred application for category "TerminalEmulator" " I also entered my file manager, and everything is empty there. How do I fix these?