Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 7 at 15:57 comment added user68958 Doesn't work for me. net stop winnat hangs, leaving the service in the STOPPING state. So I had to reboot again I dream about being free of this OS some day.
Nov 22, 2021 at 6:42 comment added Efthymios Kalyviotis Searching for months now for a solution and the above solved the problem!
Nov 17, 2021 at 1:48 comment added Dylan Nicholson Confirmed stopping and restarting winnat works, but the question is why? The port was one originally allocated by Visual Studio when I created a .NET service years ago, and I'd had this random failures before, but this time I had it just after rebooting!
Mar 3, 2021 at 20:04 comment added zentrunix worked for me too ... stopped and then restarted winnat (which I don't even know if it's a required service...) ... Windows 10 Pro 20H2
Jan 11, 2021 at 8:16 comment added dermoritz yes i tried all these things - the ports reserved are randomly split across the dynamic port range. my main problem is that i don't know who and why they are reserved. i suspect hyper-v virtual network cards that i can't get rid of (uninstall hyper v doesn't help)
Dec 17, 2020 at 8:05 comment added bers @dermoritz did you do netsh int ipv4 add excludedportrange ... at all?
Dec 17, 2020 at 8:04 comment added bers @dermoritz interesting, it does for me. Namely, whatever is reserving the ports still tries to do so, but fails to reserve the one port I reserved myself (50323). What you see above is what I see after a reboot. What I also did, maybe this had an influence, too: reg add HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\hns\State /v EnableExcludedPortRange /d 0 /f (from yoshpe's answer) and disable Hyper-V using dism as proposed in my related answers. But intuitively, I think reserving a port should be a enough.
Dec 17, 2020 at 7:05 comment added dermoritz So it sadly does not survive a restart. the the cause of it - whatever is reserving those ports is still there
Dec 15, 2020 at 9:11 comment added dermoritz restarting winnat indeed helps - after it the only reserved range is the one i set. Not sure if this survived a restart. i will report here.
Dec 15, 2020 at 9:08 vote accept dermoritz
Dec 15, 2020 at 9:03 history edited bers CC BY-SA 4.0
added 376 characters in body
Dec 15, 2020 at 8:57 history answered bers CC BY-SA 4.0