Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
deleted 423 characters in body
Source Link
user1251367
user1251367

I want to mirror the data sent to (and/or from) a USB device to multiple host computers at the same time (i.e no physical switches to select one host or the other). Here are two scenarios to describe what I'm trying to do from a device's perspective:

  • Send Data: A USB microphone is hooked up to two computers such that when spoken into, the mic level on both computers increases simultaneously
  • Receive Data: An audio signal from each computer is transmitted over USB and "merged" before entering a DAC for external processing, effectively combining each computer's audio signal

My (limited) understanding of the USB protocol and other similar posts on StackExchange (1, 2, 3, 4) tell me that this isn't really possible, however, during my research on this topic I stumbled on these videos:

These seem to demonstrate that what I'm trying to do is possible, at least for sending data from the device, however the fact that the uploader refuses to share any details about this magic device outside of emailing some nonexistent company website screams scam to me.

  Can USB data really be mirrored in this fashion if it's done via RS232 connections? If so, does anyone have any ideas/leads on what this sort of device is called/where it could beI've found? The closet thing I could find is this the product page StarTech adapterhere, however the way it's described it seemsI'm still skeptical of this and would like to be meantsee other examples of similar devices. Does anyone know what the generic name for just converting a USB port on a single host into two serial ports, not for connecting multiple hosts to one device. If like this isn't possible, then does anyone haveis/know of any guesses as to what's going on in those videos then? Clever editing, or maybe some trick in software to make it seem realother examples of devices like this?

I want to mirror the data sent to (and/or from) a USB device to multiple host computers at the same time (i.e no physical switches to select one host or the other). Here are two scenarios to describe what I'm trying to do from a device's perspective:

  • Send Data: A USB microphone is hooked up to two computers such that when spoken into, the mic level on both computers increases simultaneously
  • Receive Data: An audio signal from each computer is transmitted over USB and "merged" before entering a DAC for external processing, effectively combining each computer's audio signal

My (limited) understanding of the USB protocol and other similar posts on StackExchange (1, 2, 3, 4) tell me that this isn't really possible, however, during my research on this topic I stumbled on these videos:

These seem to demonstrate that what I'm trying to do is possible, at least for sending data from the device, however the fact that the uploader refuses to share any details about this magic device outside of emailing some nonexistent company website screams scam to me.

  Can USB data really be mirrored in this fashion if it's done via RS232 connections? If so, does anyone have any ideas/leads on what this sort of device is called/where it could be found? The closet thing I could find is this StarTech adapter, however the way it's described it seems to be meant for just converting a USB port on a single host into two serial ports, not for connecting multiple hosts to one device. If this isn't possible, then does anyone have any guesses as to what's going on in those videos then? Clever editing, or maybe some trick in software to make it seem real?

I want to mirror the data sent to (and/or from) a USB device to multiple host computers at the same time (i.e no physical switches to select one host or the other). Here are two scenarios to describe what I'm trying to do from a device's perspective:

  • Send Data: A USB microphone is hooked up to two computers such that when spoken into, the mic level on both computers increases simultaneously
  • Receive Data: An audio signal from each computer is transmitted over USB and "merged" before entering a DAC for external processing, effectively combining each computer's audio signal

My (limited) understanding of the USB protocol and other similar posts on StackExchange (1, 2, 3, 4) tell me that this isn't really possible, however, during my research on this topic I stumbled on these videos:

These seem to demonstrate that what I'm trying to do is possible, at least for sending data from the device. Can USB data really be mirrored in this fashion if it's done via RS232 connections? I've found the product page here, however I'm still skeptical of this and would like to see other examples of similar devices. Does anyone know what the generic name for a device like this is/know of any other examples of devices like this?

Source Link
user1251367
user1251367

Mirroring USB data to multiple computers/hosts simultaneously

I want to mirror the data sent to (and/or from) a USB device to multiple host computers at the same time (i.e no physical switches to select one host or the other). Here are two scenarios to describe what I'm trying to do from a device's perspective:

  • Send Data: A USB microphone is hooked up to two computers such that when spoken into, the mic level on both computers increases simultaneously
  • Receive Data: An audio signal from each computer is transmitted over USB and "merged" before entering a DAC for external processing, effectively combining each computer's audio signal

My (limited) understanding of the USB protocol and other similar posts on StackExchange (1, 2, 3, 4) tell me that this isn't really possible, however, during my research on this topic I stumbled on these videos:

These seem to demonstrate that what I'm trying to do is possible, at least for sending data from the device, however the fact that the uploader refuses to share any details about this magic device outside of emailing some nonexistent company website screams scam to me.

Can USB data really be mirrored in this fashion if it's done via RS232 connections? If so, does anyone have any ideas/leads on what this sort of device is called/where it could be found? The closet thing I could find is this StarTech adapter, however the way it's described it seems to be meant for just converting a USB port on a single host into two serial ports, not for connecting multiple hosts to one device. If this isn't possible, then does anyone have any guesses as to what's going on in those videos then? Clever editing, or maybe some trick in software to make it seem real?