Skip to main content
Remove extra commentary
Source Link
Stephen Rauch
  • 3.2k
  • 10
  • 24
  • 26

I was fighting with this as well and your post helped me solve the issue.

Windows 10 Enterprise 1909 - OS Build 18363.1256 - 64 bit

I was trying to add a bunch of new drives to the storage pool (2 x 12 TB and 3 x 4 TB). The three 4TB drives added without issue but I kept getting the error Can't prepare drives - The system cannot find the file specified. 0x00000002 whenever I tried to add the two 12 TB drives.

I moved the two new 12 TB drives to a different enclosure; the same one that had the three 4 TB drives. Subsequently, that enclosure is attached to a USB port on the motherboard and not through an Anker Ultra-Slim USB 3.0 4-port Hub that the other enclosures are connected through. Once the drives were moved to that enclosure, I had no issue adding the new drives to the pool.

Next time I am at MS Ignite, I will have to get an explanation of this issue from someone on the Storage team.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!Next time I am at MS Ignite, I will have to get an explanation of this issue from someone on the Storage team.

I was fighting with this as well and your post helped me solve the issue.

Windows 10 Enterprise 1909 - OS Build 18363.1256 - 64 bit

I was trying to add a bunch of new drives to the storage pool (2 x 12 TB and 3 x 4 TB). The three 4TB drives added without issue but I kept getting the error Can't prepare drives - The system cannot find the file specified. 0x00000002 whenever I tried to add the two 12 TB drives.

I moved the two new 12 TB drives to a different enclosure; the same one that had the three 4 TB drives. Subsequently, that enclosure is attached to a USB port on the motherboard and not through an Anker Ultra-Slim USB 3.0 4-port Hub that the other enclosures are connected through. Once the drives were moved to that enclosure, I had no issue adding the new drives to the pool.

Next time I am at MS Ignite, I will have to get an explanation of this issue from someone on the Storage team.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

I was fighting with this as well.

Windows 10 Enterprise 1909 - OS Build 18363.1256 - 64 bit

I was trying to add a bunch of new drives to the storage pool (2 x 12 TB and 3 x 4 TB). The three 4TB drives added without issue but I kept getting the error Can't prepare drives - The system cannot find the file specified. 0x00000002 whenever I tried to add the two 12 TB drives.

I moved the two new 12 TB drives to a different enclosure; the same one that had the three 4 TB drives. Subsequently, that enclosure is attached to a USB port on the motherboard and not through an Anker Ultra-Slim USB 3.0 4-port Hub that the other enclosures are connected through. Once the drives were moved to that enclosure, I had no issue adding the new drives to the pool.

Next time I am at MS Ignite, I will have to get an explanation of this issue from someone on the Storage team.

Source Link

I was fighting with this as well and your post helped me solve the issue.

Windows 10 Enterprise 1909 - OS Build 18363.1256 - 64 bit

I was trying to add a bunch of new drives to the storage pool (2 x 12 TB and 3 x 4 TB). The three 4TB drives added without issue but I kept getting the error Can't prepare drives - The system cannot find the file specified. 0x00000002 whenever I tried to add the two 12 TB drives.

I moved the two new 12 TB drives to a different enclosure; the same one that had the three 4 TB drives. Subsequently, that enclosure is attached to a USB port on the motherboard and not through an Anker Ultra-Slim USB 3.0 4-port Hub that the other enclosures are connected through. Once the drives were moved to that enclosure, I had no issue adding the new drives to the pool.

Next time I am at MS Ignite, I will have to get an explanation of this issue from someone on the Storage team.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!