Skip to main content
Add another syntax alternative that does not work
Source Link
U. Windl
  • 705
  • 10
  • 35

net-snmp (VACM): How to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress table column from view?

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:c0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Update (2021-01-27)

I found out that using the symbolic names causes the problem: If I use only numeric IDs, it works.

Still, I don't know what causes the problem: The IF-MIB.txt is located in /usr/share/snmp/mibs, it contains the definitions being used, and it is included in the net-snmp-config --default-mibdirs.

This syntax is accepted, but the table column is not excluded:

view publ excluded IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress ff:c0

net-snmp: How to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from view?

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:c0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Update (2021-01-27)

I found out that using the symbolic names causes the problem: If I use only numeric IDs, it works.

Still, I don't know what causes the problem: The IF-MIB.txt is located in /usr/share/snmp/mibs, it contains the definitions being used, and it is included in the net-snmp-config --default-mibdirs.

net-snmp (VACM): How to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress table column from view?

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:c0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Update (2021-01-27)

I found out that using the symbolic names causes the problem: If I use only numeric IDs, it works.

Still, I don't know what causes the problem: The IF-MIB.txt is located in /usr/share/snmp/mibs, it contains the definitions being used, and it is included in the net-snmp-config --default-mibdirs.

This syntax is accepted, but the table column is not excluded:

view publ excluded IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress ff:c0
Update (using numeric OIDs works)
Source Link
U. Windl
  • 705
  • 10
  • 35

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:c0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Update (2021-01-27)

I found out that using the symbolic names causes the problem: If I use only numeric IDs, it works.

Still, I don't know what causes the problem: The IF-MIB.txt is located in /usr/share/snmp/mibs, it contains the definitions being used, and it is included in the net-snmp-config --default-mibdirs.

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:c0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:c0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Update (2021-01-27)

I found out that using the symbolic names causes the problem: If I use only numeric IDs, it works.

Still, I don't know what causes the problem: The IF-MIB.txt is located in /usr/share/snmp/mibs, it contains the definitions being used, and it is included in the net-snmp-config --default-mibdirs.

Fixed OID and mask for IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress
Source Link
U. Windl
  • 705
  • 10
  • 35

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:fec0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:fe
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 2 ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Tailoring an SNMP view for net-snmp 5.7.3, I fail to exclude IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress from my view: What ever I tried, I still get the MAC addresses in snmpwalk. Still I'm sure my view is being used as other excludes do work.

So here is my last attempt:

view publ included .iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2 fc
# iso(1) org(3) dod(6) internet(1) mgmt(2) mib-2(1)

view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.ifTable.ifEntry.ifPhysAddress ff:c0
# 1 3 6 1 2 1 interfaces(2) ifTable(2) ifEntry(1) ifPhysAddress(6)
# .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.6

# this works:
view publ excluded .1.3.6.1.2.1.ip fe
# ip(4)

Update (2021-01-08)

The OID and mask given initially were wrong, causing error bad SUBTREE object id. Still, even with the fixed OID and mask the ifPhysAddress entries are still included in the view.

Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
Notice added Draw attention by U. Windl
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by U. Windl
Improve title
Link
U. Windl
  • 705
  • 10
  • 35
Loading
Source Link
U. Windl
  • 705
  • 10
  • 35
Loading