Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • Showing my ignorance of Windows networking here - apparently ping ubuntu.local works from Windows. Seems that if I set the connection's DNS suffix to local then ping ubuntu starts working. So maybe it's all working after all? But then my Linux client just decided to have nslookup report ** server can't find windows.local: NXDOMAIN - but then I ran it again immediately and it was OK. Sigh.
    – davidA
    Commented Nov 2, 2020 at 23:43
  • Additional question - should I even configure the router for local as system domain name if I don't actually need one? What if I removed domain-name local from the dhcp server config? Would that make things more or less complex?
    – davidA
    Commented Nov 2, 2020 at 23:44
  • Yes, your Dnsmasq should have some domain name because a few tools will refuse to resolve single-label names via DNS. However, I would highly recommend using some other domain name and checking if the problem still occurs with that. Do not use local as your LAN domain. Even a made-up suffix like lan or private is less bad; though I would personally prefer home.arpa since it's officially designated for this purpose. Commented Nov 3, 2020 at 5:36
  • And it just occurs to me that the domain name advertised by DHCP actually has to match the name configured in Dnsmasq as the first thing. Can you check whether EdgeRouter adds the correct configuration? Commented Nov 3, 2020 at 5:42
  • @user1686 thank you for your advice. I am now using a different LAN domain name: lan. I also checked that changing the DHCP Domain in the UI adjusts the dnsmasq config, and it seems to do so - the relevant names in /etc/dnsmasq.d/dnsmasq-dhcp-config.conf are adjusted automatically. Is that sufficient for the check you propose? Interestingly the old local name is also retained: domain=lan,192.168.7.0/24,local
    – davidA
    Commented Nov 4, 2020 at 21:05