Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

24
  • 1
    While creating the image, dism forced me to give a name with /name option, but other than that I was able to get through step 4. I confirmed that reagentc /info showed the status as Enabled, but once I changed the id to 27, status became Disabled and reagentc /boottore complained about the same. What could I be doing wrong?
    – haridsv
    Commented Dec 31, 2020 at 11:38
  • 5
    There is a subtle gotcha, at least in Windows 10 2004, which is the one I just did this on: When reagentc /setreimage /path N:\Recovery\WindowsRE is executed, it actually doesn't change the Windows RE location. Once the original partition (O:) is deleted, reagentc reports Disabled. The workaround is to run reagentc /disable before step 4, or to do step 7 before step 4.
    – Jake F
    Commented Jan 16, 2021 at 15:01
  • 4
    @JakeF Thanks for nice finding this. Added a disable-step before step 4.
    – VainMan
    Commented Jan 16, 2021 at 17:57
  • 3
    I wanted to say great comment, people generally don't care about following through like this, and it bugs me But +1 and thanks are discouraged lol So I thought I might add a suggestion In step 2 there is no name for the image, Windows 10 1904 will complain if there is no name Just great to see thoughtful people putting the effort in, document the world!
    – Steve
    Commented Feb 14, 2021 at 0:16
  • 22
    Great instructions! One comment: after following the above instructions, my new recovery partition kept reappearing in Windows Explorer/ This PC as drive 'N' despite the diskpart > remove step. I discovered there was a registry key \DosDevices\N: under Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\MountedDevices that was making this come back. Deleting that key fixed this issue. YMMV; registry editing precautions apply. This is detailed here: answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/…
    – SSilk
    Commented Jul 25, 2021 at 21:12