Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

11
  • Thank you for trying it, DrZoo. And thank you for your screenshot. Notepad++ is selecting UTF-8 for me as well, but displaying very differently. Which font at are you using, and what Notepad++ version, Notepad++ bit-depth (32 or 64) and OS are you using? Commented Oct 12, 2020 at 14:11
  • @RockPaperLz-MaskitorCasket I'm using Notepad++ v7.9 (64-bit) (build time Sep 22 2020 - 03:19:04) on Windows 10. Where do you find the font style? I can't seem to find it.
    – DrZoo
    Commented Oct 12, 2020 at 14:18
  • Thanks. In Notepad++, you can go to Settings > Style Configurator... to see the fonts. Note that there can be fonts defined for every file type as well as a global override! Commented Oct 12, 2020 at 14:24
  • @RockPaperLz-MaskitorCasket Global Styles and Global override, Courier New font. My file extension for my picture is .txt
    – DrZoo
    Commented Oct 12, 2020 at 14:34
  • Curious. I tried the Courier New font, and even saved the text as a .txt file. I still just get a rectangle where the fox should be displayed. I'm using the same version of Notepad++ as you, although I am using the 32-bit release of it. The only other difference I can think of is that I'm trying it on a Win7 box. Commented Oct 12, 2020 at 14:45