Skip to main content
added 115 characters in body
Source Link
Winston
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9

I would like to configure Windows 10 to only allow traffic through a VPN connection. For example, Firefox won't have internet access if the VPN is not connected. I want to be able to turn this setting off.

I'm not interested in the VPN-side solution, where a VPN "kill switch" cuts the internet connection if it disconnects. With that, Windows can no longer connect to my wi-fi router. So I have to kill the "kill-switch" - and when Windows connects again, all apps again have internet access with no VPN connection - so that is completely pointless.

3rd party app solution are okay. I would like the solution to be as light-weight as possible.

Thanks for any help.

Note: When NordVPN disconnects because a server goes down, the internet is now wide open to apps on the PC.

I would like to configure Windows 10 to only allow traffic through a VPN connection. For example, Firefox won't have internet access if the VPN is not connected. I want to be able to turn this setting off.

I'm not interested in the VPN-side solution, where a VPN "kill switch" cuts the internet connection if it disconnects. With that, Windows can no longer connect to my wi-fi router. So I have to kill the "kill-switch" - and when Windows connects again, all apps again have internet access with no VPN connection - so that is completely pointless.

3rd party app solution are okay. I would like the solution to be as light-weight as possible.

Thanks for any help.

I would like to configure Windows 10 to only allow traffic through a VPN connection. For example, Firefox won't have internet access if the VPN is not connected. I want to be able to turn this setting off.

I'm not interested in the VPN-side solution, where a VPN "kill switch" cuts the internet connection if it disconnects. With that, Windows can no longer connect to my wi-fi router. So I have to kill the "kill-switch" - and when Windows connects again, all apps again have internet access with no VPN connection - so that is completely pointless.

3rd party app solution are okay. I would like the solution to be as light-weight as possible.

Thanks for any help.

Note: When NordVPN disconnects because a server goes down, the internet is now wide open to apps on the PC.

Source Link
Winston
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9

Configuring Windows to only allow traffic through VPN

I would like to configure Windows 10 to only allow traffic through a VPN connection. For example, Firefox won't have internet access if the VPN is not connected. I want to be able to turn this setting off.

I'm not interested in the VPN-side solution, where a VPN "kill switch" cuts the internet connection if it disconnects. With that, Windows can no longer connect to my wi-fi router. So I have to kill the "kill-switch" - and when Windows connects again, all apps again have internet access with no VPN connection - so that is completely pointless.

3rd party app solution are okay. I would like the solution to be as light-weight as possible.

Thanks for any help.