Skip to main content
added 12 characters in body
Source Link
Albin
  • 10.9k
  • 16
  • 65
  • 103

Here is my current situation. I have multiple copies of the same device (these are USB devices), they are all exactly the same (same MAC address, etc), and they get recognized as ethernet adapters (ethernet 1, ethernet 2, etc). 

However, I run into an issue with Ethernet 2 only. Meaning I don't have any issues with ethernet 3, 4, 5, etc. Just to make sure it wasn't specific to a certain device I swapped the order of the devices ( I plugged in what was Ethernet 5 first and jumbled up the order of plugging them in) and still, the device that used to be Ethernet 4 was now Ethernet 2 and it still I had issues with that network interface profile. I understand that the name of the network adapters doesn't actually affect anything, I assume Windows "caches" some settings somewhere specific to that Ethernet 2 profile. 

I was wondering how I could "reset" any settings related to those network adapters. 

I believed I messed up a setting for Ethernet 2 so I want to reset it to a clean slate. I tried removing registry entries under interfaces, restarted networking, cleared ARP cache, and still no progress. Any help would be appreciated. In case anyone is wondering the thing that doesn't work with the ethernet 2 profile is network bridging.

Here is my current situation. I have multiple copies of the same device (these are USB devices), they are all exactly the same (same MAC address, etc), and they get recognized as ethernet adapters (ethernet 1, ethernet 2, etc). However, I run into an issue with Ethernet 2 only. Meaning I don't have any issues with ethernet 3, 4, 5, etc. Just to make sure it wasn't specific to a certain device I swapped the order of the devices ( I plugged in what was Ethernet 5 first and jumbled up the order of plugging them in) and still, the device that used to be Ethernet 4 was now Ethernet 2 and it still I had issues with that network interface profile. I understand that the name of the network adapters doesn't actually affect anything, I assume Windows "caches" some settings somewhere specific to that Ethernet 2 profile. I was wondering how I could "reset" any settings related to those network adapters. I believed I messed up a setting for Ethernet 2 so I want to reset it to a clean slate. I tried removing registry entries under interfaces, restarted networking, cleared ARP cache, and still no progress. Any help would be appreciated. In case anyone is wondering the thing that doesn't work with the ethernet 2 profile is network bridging.

Here is my current situation. I have multiple copies of the same device (these are USB devices), they are all exactly the same (same MAC address, etc), and they get recognized as ethernet adapters (ethernet 1, ethernet 2, etc). 

However, I run into an issue with Ethernet 2 only. Meaning I don't have any issues with ethernet 3, 4, 5, etc. Just to make sure it wasn't specific to a certain device I swapped the order of the devices ( I plugged in what was Ethernet 5 first and jumbled up the order of plugging them in) and still, the device that used to be Ethernet 4 was now Ethernet 2 and it still I had issues with that network interface profile. I understand that the name of the network adapters doesn't actually affect anything, I assume Windows "caches" some settings somewhere specific to that Ethernet 2 profile. 

I was wondering how I could "reset" any settings related to those network adapters. 

I believed I messed up a setting for Ethernet 2 so I want to reset it to a clean slate. I tried removing registry entries under interfaces, restarted networking, cleared ARP cache, and still no progress. Any help would be appreciated. In case anyone is wondering the thing that doesn't work with the ethernet 2 profile is network bridging.

Source Link
Sparky
  • 11
  • 1
  • 2

Where does windows store network interface profiles? How can I reset them?

Here is my current situation. I have multiple copies of the same device (these are USB devices), they are all exactly the same (same MAC address, etc), and they get recognized as ethernet adapters (ethernet 1, ethernet 2, etc). However, I run into an issue with Ethernet 2 only. Meaning I don't have any issues with ethernet 3, 4, 5, etc. Just to make sure it wasn't specific to a certain device I swapped the order of the devices ( I plugged in what was Ethernet 5 first and jumbled up the order of plugging them in) and still, the device that used to be Ethernet 4 was now Ethernet 2 and it still I had issues with that network interface profile. I understand that the name of the network adapters doesn't actually affect anything, I assume Windows "caches" some settings somewhere specific to that Ethernet 2 profile. I was wondering how I could "reset" any settings related to those network adapters. I believed I messed up a setting for Ethernet 2 so I want to reset it to a clean slate. I tried removing registry entries under interfaces, restarted networking, cleared ARP cache, and still no progress. Any help would be appreciated. In case anyone is wondering the thing that doesn't work with the ethernet 2 profile is network bridging.