Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 20, 2020 at 6:09 vote accept SepSol
Sep 17, 2020 at 10:42 answer added SepSol timeline score: 1
Sep 17, 2020 at 7:41 comment added patkim I just suggest that first try with only SSD connected, see if it succeeds or not, if it does, then in principle you have a working Windows 10 laptop with SSD, though overall old. Then look for other options like how to add second disk, swap the two, set correct Boot order in BIOS etc and see where it goes later.
Sep 17, 2020 at 5:11 comment added SepSol I have wiped the HDD while I was trying to install Windows on the SSD (It was a separate step where I tried to install Windows on the HDD). If I replace the HDD on SATA0 with the SSD, I assume I have to throw out the HDD, so my laptop's total storage then would be limited to the SSD. I also haven't thought of using Media Creation Tool, but I don't have access to unlimited internet bandwidth, so it's not easy for me to download the .iso file again with MCT, I've downloaded the .iso so that I can use it in different occasions.
Sep 17, 2020 at 3:59 comment added Appleoddity Why would you have to spend money on a larger SSD if you replaced the hard drive in the computer? You literally purchased an SSD that would plug right in place of the HDD. This is likely your problem because there is an OS already on the HDD. Also, why are you using Rufus? Do you not have a Windows machine available to use the Windows Media Creation Tool which is the Microsoft provided method of creating a bootable USB installation media and far, far simpler?
Sep 17, 2020 at 0:32 comment added SepSol Ok I'll try this and will update you on the results.
Sep 17, 2020 at 0:04 comment added patkim May or may not be related, but generally when you install Windows especially as MBR with more than one physical disk present during installation, the MBR / bootloader may get installed in the first Disk (SATA0) even if you select SATA1 disk free space or a partition for installation. Such config might create boot issues. I would recommend keeping only one disk during installation (Preferably at SATA0 which could be the location of the original HDD that came with the laptop, just as @Keltari mentioned), check if everything is ok or not and then proceed with adding another secondary disk.
Sep 16, 2020 at 23:21 comment added SepSol Because I didn't want to spend money on buying a larger volume SSD and I could use the spare CD/DVD ROM somewhere in my house. Does it make any difference if I install the SSD on the HDD slot?
Sep 16, 2020 at 23:00 comment added Keltari why not just get rid of the HDD and put the SSD in?
Sep 16, 2020 at 22:08 review First posts
Sep 29, 2020 at 3:14
Sep 16, 2020 at 22:06 history asked SepSol CC BY-SA 4.0