Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 16, 2020 at 4:02 comment added PrecastClockDJCami My bad the particular icon is indeed stored in netcenter.dll not in shell32.dll. But I'm glad you'd resolve it by yourself without reinstalling the OS. Yes, I suspected about it too that those third party WiFi controllers/managers and VPNs were the main source of the problem since they also manage the network connection just like Windows Network/Internet Manager which may lead to management conflicts and dilemmas.You went through a lot of things in this one, but still better than reinstalling the whole thing. Great job!
Sep 16, 2020 at 3:35 history edited PrecastClockDJCami CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 5 characters in body
Sep 16, 2020 at 3:28 history edited PrecastClockDJCami CC BY-SA 4.0
added 68 characters in body
Sep 10, 2020 at 19:48 comment added Chris Steinbeck Bell Reinstalling the internal wifi controller and clearing out third party Wifi and VPN and reapplying all the commands mentioned did the trick. I was unsure that after uninstalling any software or performing a registry clean with CCleaner for example would delete the icon of network awareness but as you mentioned that icon is on the shell32 file. I have no way to confirm this. I had not verified if the other services were set to automatically but I guess they were if this issue arises again I will check it.Hopefully as you indicated that will suffice to solve this issue.
Sep 10, 2020 at 19:44 comment added Chris Steinbeck Bell I finally solved my issue. But I did it before catching your second answer. What I did was to uninstall the VPN software which I had installed and also a usb dual band wifi which I used from time to time, then I deleted all the leftover connections which were on network shaing center. Then while connected I retried all the commands mentioned in my question. After doing all of that I rebooted the laptop. When it loaded back I had the network icon with an x over it. So at that point I uninstalled the laptop network controller from hardware settings so it would reinstall again
Sep 10, 2020 at 15:41 history edited PrecastClockDJCami CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 41 characters in body
Sep 10, 2020 at 15:05 history answered PrecastClockDJCami CC BY-SA 4.0