Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • I finally solved my issue. But I did it before catching your second answer. What I did was to uninstall the VPN software which I had installed and also a usb dual band wifi which I used from time to time, then I deleted all the leftover connections which were on network shaing center. Then while connected I retried all the commands mentioned in my question. After doing all of that I rebooted the laptop. When it loaded back I had the network icon with an x over it. So at that point I uninstalled the laptop network controller from hardware settings so it would reinstall again Commented Sep 10, 2020 at 19:44
  • Reinstalling the internal wifi controller and clearing out third party Wifi and VPN and reapplying all the commands mentioned did the trick. I was unsure that after uninstalling any software or performing a registry clean with CCleaner for example would delete the icon of network awareness but as you mentioned that icon is on the shell32 file. I have no way to confirm this. I had not verified if the other services were set to automatically but I guess they were if this issue arises again I will check it.Hopefully as you indicated that will suffice to solve this issue. Commented Sep 10, 2020 at 19:48
  • My bad the particular icon is indeed stored in netcenter.dll not in shell32.dll. But I'm glad you'd resolve it by yourself without reinstalling the OS. Yes, I suspected about it too that those third party WiFi controllers/managers and VPNs were the main source of the problem since they also manage the network connection just like Windows Network/Internet Manager which may lead to management conflicts and dilemmas.You went through a lot of things in this one, but still better than reinstalling the whole thing. Great job! Commented Sep 16, 2020 at 4:02