Skip to main content
added 633 characters in body
Source Link
Dai
  • 2.7k
  • 6
  • 36
  • 51

I don't know why Microsoft updated Windows 10 version 2004 to ignore their own Group Policy setting. I hope this is a bug because there are very legitimate reasons for organizations not wanting to enable web-search in the Start Menu and it would be foolish of Microsoft to wantonly open-up their users to security risks for the sake of driving traffic to Bing.

According to this page: https://www.bennetrichter.de/en/tutorials/windows-10-disable-web-search/ the DisableSearchBoxSuggestions policy for Explorer should work.

  1. Open regedit.exe.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer (create the Explorer key if it doesn't already exist).
  3. Create a DWORD value named DisableSearchBoxSuggestions and set it to 1.
  4. Restart your computer (or kill and restart all Explorer.exe process instances).

I have the latest Windows 10 group policy ADMX templates on my computer and my domain controller and I don't see DisableSearchBoxSuggestions listed. This is curious.

Update

I just restarted Explorer.exe now and I can confirm it works, phew!

Screenshot proof (note the lack of "Web" options and the "Bing rewards" display is gone too):

enter image description here

Update 2:

So the DisableSearchBoxSuggestions registry entry actually corresponds to an existing Group Policy setting dating back to Windows 7. In the Group Policy editor you can get to it from:

  • Policies
    • User Configuration
      • Administrative Templates
        • Windows Components
          • File Explorer
            • "Turn off display of recent search entries in the File Explorer search box"

enter image description here

I don't know why Microsoft updated Windows 10 version 2004 to ignore their own Group Policy setting. I hope this is a bug because there are very legitimate reasons for organizations not wanting to enable web-search in the Start Menu and it would be foolish of Microsoft to wantonly open-up their users to security risks for the sake of driving traffic to Bing.

According to this page: https://www.bennetrichter.de/en/tutorials/windows-10-disable-web-search/ the DisableSearchBoxSuggestions policy for Explorer should work.

  1. Open regedit.exe.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer (create the Explorer key if it doesn't already exist).
  3. Create a DWORD value named DisableSearchBoxSuggestions and set it to 1.
  4. Restart your computer (or kill and restart all Explorer.exe process instances).

I have the latest Windows 10 group policy ADMX templates on my computer and my domain controller and I don't see DisableSearchBoxSuggestions listed. This is curious.

Update

I just restarted Explorer.exe now and I can confirm it works, phew!

Screenshot proof (note the lack of "Web" options and the "Bing rewards" display is gone too):

enter image description here

I don't know why Microsoft updated Windows 10 version 2004 to ignore their own Group Policy setting. I hope this is a bug because there are very legitimate reasons for organizations not wanting to enable web-search in the Start Menu and it would be foolish of Microsoft to wantonly open-up their users to security risks for the sake of driving traffic to Bing.

According to this page: https://www.bennetrichter.de/en/tutorials/windows-10-disable-web-search/ the DisableSearchBoxSuggestions policy for Explorer should work.

  1. Open regedit.exe.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer (create the Explorer key if it doesn't already exist).
  3. Create a DWORD value named DisableSearchBoxSuggestions and set it to 1.
  4. Restart your computer (or kill and restart all Explorer.exe process instances).

I have the latest Windows 10 group policy ADMX templates on my computer and my domain controller and I don't see DisableSearchBoxSuggestions listed. This is curious.

Update

I just restarted Explorer.exe now and I can confirm it works, phew!

Screenshot proof (note the lack of "Web" options and the "Bing rewards" display is gone too):

enter image description here

Update 2:

So the DisableSearchBoxSuggestions registry entry actually corresponds to an existing Group Policy setting dating back to Windows 7. In the Group Policy editor you can get to it from:

  • Policies
    • User Configuration
      • Administrative Templates
        • Windows Components
          • File Explorer
            • "Turn off display of recent search entries in the File Explorer search box"

enter image description here

Source Link
Dai
  • 2.7k
  • 6
  • 36
  • 51

I don't know why Microsoft updated Windows 10 version 2004 to ignore their own Group Policy setting. I hope this is a bug because there are very legitimate reasons for organizations not wanting to enable web-search in the Start Menu and it would be foolish of Microsoft to wantonly open-up their users to security risks for the sake of driving traffic to Bing.

According to this page: https://www.bennetrichter.de/en/tutorials/windows-10-disable-web-search/ the DisableSearchBoxSuggestions policy for Explorer should work.

  1. Open regedit.exe.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer (create the Explorer key if it doesn't already exist).
  3. Create a DWORD value named DisableSearchBoxSuggestions and set it to 1.
  4. Restart your computer (or kill and restart all Explorer.exe process instances).

I have the latest Windows 10 group policy ADMX templates on my computer and my domain controller and I don't see DisableSearchBoxSuggestions listed. This is curious.

Update

I just restarted Explorer.exe now and I can confirm it works, phew!

Screenshot proof (note the lack of "Web" options and the "Bing rewards" display is gone too):

enter image description here