Skip to main content
15 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 5, 2010 at 2:25 comment added intuited Are you able to hook up the vkeybd keyboard to make sounds in Rosegarden? ie is it something specific to your keyboard, or is it just an issue with figuring out Rosegarden? ....... I usually rig things up through qjackctl rather than doing it in rosegarden; you should see your keyboard listed as an output in the 'MIDI' tab of qjackctl (the second tab). You just hook it up to a rosegarden input via click-drag.
Jul 5, 2010 at 1:41 comment added Andriy Drozdyuk Thanks intuited... the thing is that I can actually see my keyboard in the midi-preference of rosegarden if I dig around. But it does not make rosegarden respond or make any sounds. It's just that I don't know how to setup the keyboard as midi, because the guide shows options different than the current version of Rosegarden provides...
Jun 30, 2010 at 23:26 comment added intuited You can also try using lsusb -v from the command line to get a listing of USB devices, to verify that it's actually seeing your keyboard.
Jun 30, 2010 at 23:25 comment added intuited On the other hand, if you can't get sound via vkeybd it could be that there's something you need to set up. Rosegarden and I think also lmms will show something lighting up when you press a key, so if that happens but the volume levels don't change, you know that you need to set the keyboard up as a MIDI input, or maybe configure an instrument for that track. If you see levels but get no sound, then you might have to route the audio output from the DAW to your sound card (though normally it will be set up like this by default).
Jun 30, 2010 at 23:23 comment added intuited Hmm.. Are you able to use vkeybd in place of your keyboard? If that works, and your keyboard doesn't, it could be an issue with drivers. maybe check on ubuntuforums (assuming you're running ubuntu studio) for information on that particular keyboard or family of keyboards. I have an older M-audio keyboard that requires a special package to be installed, but if it's installed it just works.
Jun 30, 2010 at 20:48 comment added Andriy Drozdyuk I have no idea the steps which I should take. I found this guide, but it never actually says how to PLAY or hear some sound: 64studio.com/manual/audio/rosegarden
Jun 30, 2010 at 20:35 comment added Andriy Drozdyuk Ok, i plugged in my keyboard. nothing happens. What's more - the rosegarden and lmms are really slow and buggy on my laptop, and neither of them makes a sound. I am a programmer and really surprised at how complex this process of connecting the digital instrument to a computer is!
Jun 30, 2010 at 3:50 comment added intuited Cool! Your latency issue might be resolvable through a setting in there. The full version of Cubase is certainly capable of this and much more, provided your sound card supports it. I'm unfamiliar with Ai4 but generally the software packaged with gear is not full-featured, unless maybe if it's top of the line gear. But even so it's likely that you just need to tweak a setting to get that working.
Jun 29, 2010 at 17:44 vote accept Andriy Drozdyuk
Jun 29, 2010 at 17:36 comment added Andriy Drozdyuk Yes, your suggestion about installing ubuntu studio is nice. I may take a notebook and set it up near my keyboard. Great suggestion!
Jun 29, 2010 at 17:33 comment added Andriy Drozdyuk Also I found what the software is called "Cubase Ai4 and editor software is included"
Jun 29, 2010 at 17:31 comment added Andriy Drozdyuk What you are saying about latency is true about my windows daw program that came with a keyboard. When I press the key on the keyboard it takes 1/2 to 1 second to hear it on my headphones. I thought it was normal, and also very annoying.
Jun 28, 2010 at 20:46 comment added Andriy Drozdyuk Wow, Thanks, I was actually looking for something like this - that gives me an overview of what goes where.
Jun 28, 2010 at 20:31 history edited intuited CC BY-SA 2.5
added caveat about potential inapplicability to question
Jun 28, 2010 at 20:16 history answered intuited CC BY-SA 2.5