Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1295193661597274121
edited title
Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56k
  • 22
  • 167
  • 214

On consumer grade laptops what is the significance of RAID ON“RAID ON” option??(Firmware --> Sata Operation --> RAID ON) in the firmware?

added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56k
  • 22
  • 167
  • 214

On few consumer laptops I have noticed that the laptops firmwarelaptop’s firmware provides an option for Raid.

Firmware --> Sata Operation --> RAID ON or AHCI (AHCI and RAID ON are mutually exclusive).

Firmware -> SATA Operation -> RAID ON or AHCI (AHCI and RAID ON are mutually exclusive)

The laptopslaptop’s configuration allows only one HDDdrive and this is what puzzles me. From

From my understanding, RAID configuration is only possible when there are at least two HDD'sdrive’s in the setup and the few of the laptops I have seen have provision for just one HDDdrive.

So what is the significance of "RAID ON" here and what does it mean????

So what is the significance of "RAID ON" here and what does it mean?

On few consumer laptops I have noticed that the laptops firmware provides an option for Raid.

Firmware --> Sata Operation --> RAID ON or AHCI (AHCI and RAID ON are mutually exclusive).

The laptops configuration allows only one HDD and this is what puzzles me. From my understanding, RAID configuration is only possible when there are at least two HDD's in the setup and the few of the laptops I have seen have provision for just one HDD.

So what is the significance of "RAID ON" here and what does it mean????

On few consumer laptops I have noticed that the laptop’s firmware provides an option for RAID.

Firmware -> SATA Operation -> RAID ON or AHCI (AHCI and RAID ON are mutually exclusive)

The laptop’s configuration allows only one drive and this is what puzzles me.

From my understanding, RAID configuration is only possible when there are at least two drive’s in the setup and the few of the laptops I have seen have provision for just one drive.

So what is the significance of "RAID ON" here and what does it mean?

Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
samshers
  • 350
  • 5
  • 15

On consumer grade laptops what is the significance of RAID ON option??(Firmware --> Sata Operation --> RAID ON)?

On few consumer laptops I have noticed that the laptops firmware provides an option for Raid.

Firmware --> Sata Operation --> RAID ON or AHCI (AHCI and RAID ON are mutually exclusive).

The laptops configuration allows only one HDD and this is what puzzles me. From my understanding, RAID configuration is only possible when there are at least two HDD's in the setup and the few of the laptops I have seen have provision for just one HDD.

So what is the significance of "RAID ON" here and what does it mean????