Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1399516046713929734
deleted 184 characters in body
Source Link
Tetsujin
  • 50k
  • 9
  • 112
  • 142

To push this to the review queue for re-opening, No it absolutely does not answer my question.
I said simple equivalent, not some arcane powershell 500-line text report.
ThinkThink of this as phone support for a user with little experience. How can I tell them, without diagrams or esoteric command-line structures, how to find this info for themselves.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

To push this to the review queue for re-opening, No it absolutely does not answer my question.
I said simple equivalent, not some arcane powershell 500-line text report.
Think of this as phone support for a user with little experience. How can I tell them, without diagrams or esoteric command-line structures, how to find this info for themselves.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

Think of this as phone support for a user with little experience. How can I tell them, without diagrams or esoteric command-line structures, how to find this info for themselves.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

Post Reopened by DavidPostill windows-10
added 182 characters in body
Source Link
Tetsujin
  • 50k
  • 9
  • 112
  • 142

To push this to the review queue for re-opening, No it absolutely does not answer my question.
I said simple equivalent, not some arcane powershell 500-line text report.
Think of this as phone support for a user with little experience. How can I tell them, without diagrams or esoteric command-line structures, how to find this info for themselves.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

To push this to the review queue for re-opening, No it absolutely does not answer my question.
I said simple equivalent, not some arcane powershell 500-line text report.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

To push this to the review queue for re-opening, No it absolutely does not answer my question.
I said simple equivalent, not some arcane powershell 500-line text report.
Think of this as phone support for a user with little experience. How can I tell them, without diagrams or esoteric command-line structures, how to find this info for themselves.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

added 191 characters in body
Source Link
Tetsujin
  • 50k
  • 9
  • 112
  • 142

To push this to the review queue for re-opening, No it absolutely does not answer my question.
I said simple equivalent, not some arcane powershell 500-line text report.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

To push this to the review queue for re-opening, No it absolutely does not answer my question.
I said simple equivalent, not some arcane powershell 500-line text report.


There are several questions on here where people have gone to intricate methods to discover what process is preventing their computer from sleeping.
Many of these date back to old Windows versions & none seem to have a simple, comprehensive method.

I'm used to macOS, where I can simply open Activity Monitor - which is the Mac equivalent of Task Manager - & add a column, "Preventing sleep"
As you can see from this picture, I have a 24-hour surveillance camera running, so the app & as a consequence hidd [hardware interfaces process] jointly are keeping me awake - to be expected.

enter image description here

Is there a simple Windows built-in equivalent?

I'm not interested in 3rd party tools unless it's one of those 'everybody should have' tools I simply haven't yet discovered, so this is not a product request, it's a "does this functionality exist in Windows?" request.

Post Closed as "Duplicate" by harrymc windows-10
Source Link
Tetsujin
  • 50k
  • 9
  • 112
  • 142
Loading